We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another bay of islands rip off”
Review of sally's restaurant

sally's restaurant
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another bay of islands rip off”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The food here is very very bland. No thought of creativity has gone into it in any way and it is very expensive for what you get.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 639Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sk1pro, Owner at sally's restaurant, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
I am so sorry to read this report. I keep my prices down as much as i can. What went wrong?
My staff are all helpful lovely polite girls. The food is always to a fantastic standard. What did you purchase? Are you the gentleman who wanted a sandwich for $3.50 to take away? Just asking.

Could you please contact me so I can sort this problem out. Sally 094037652 094037135
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    222
    64
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“consistently excellent”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

we have made another trip up to the bay of islands and once again stopped by sally's for a meal. it makes no difference which meal of the day you choose to eat at sally's, the scene and the food are always excellent.
part of what makes the place work is the service, generally overseen by sally herself.
our most recent meal was a lovely dinner served out on the porch watching an absolutely stunning sunset. the food was great (beautiful fried oysters, chowder and the fish of the day), a lovely bottle of chardonnay, and tasty salted caramel ice cream for dessert. it could not have been better.
well done sally, thanks again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beulahdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
523 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The right spot !”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We are belgians and we stay for the second time in New Zealand. We had lunch and shared a dozen of oysters. Nice, but please serve them on ice, it's easy and believe me, that makes the difference ! We shared fish and ships and that was perfect. Relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food and friendly service”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Similiar to another review we were only in Russell for a few hours and beause Sally's was open and not too busy decided to have lunch. As they had a number of dishes not just seafoos it meant a couple of us could choose from non seafood dishes. I chose the salt and pepper calamari and it was the most tender I've ever had. Definately go if at Russell in Bay of Islands in New Zealsnd,

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had lunch here- huge range of Teas and fantastic selection of home baked cakes. Menu offered good selection from toasted sandwiches, Sally's seafood Chowder, Nachos or salads etc. The view from here is beautiful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sally's restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to sally's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing