We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent breakfast waffles”

The Wharf - Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #15 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast waffles”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast here three days in a row while staying in Russell. They do all waffles (savoury and sweet) for breakfast and a more extensive menu for lunch and dinner.

The service as other reviewers have commented upon is excellent - friendly and efficient. The location, right by the water, is lovely and they have indoor and outdoor seating.

Waffles itself are pretty standard - nothing to write home about but nothing to really complain about. Coffee also fine.

A good choice if you're in Russell.

Helpful?
1 Thank new_test_leper_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    87
    37
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“15 min. withouth service”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

They looked very promising, had a nice view on the sea and a interesting menu. But the wind is blowing you out of their room and the service is just below acceptable - can't be that after 15 min. you do not even have a drink on your table. No go - we left and wend to Sally's

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kohlmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewharfrussell, Owner at The Wharf - Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Kohlmi. Many thanks for your feedback, and it is received with some disappointment as our team take great pride in their service and product. We have discussed your experience with our General Mgr, who personally recalls your visit and engaged with you. Upon being seated you were informed that 5 tables had all been seated just prior to yourself (all without reservation) and that there would be a short delay. Our team presented you with menus and water whilst they took all other orders. It is very unfortunate that you were the last of ~20 guests that all arrived within a very small time-window without reservation... the team were doing there very best to ensure all parties were served equally and in fair order of being seated. The Mgr did check back with you briefly and apologise for the delay, and that they would be with you shortly. We feel your 1* review is a little unjustified as we had made every effort to inform you of the expected delay. Perhaps you would like to reconsider this? We're delighted you enjoyed your dinner at Sally's, they are great people and good friends. We hope to see you again at The Wharf on your next visit to our little slice of paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Night at 'The Wharf'”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Thanks to the staff for the great night!, the food and service were great and the atmosphere was perfect!, will be back again next time we come up!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, relaxing dinner at sunset.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We impulsively decided to have dinner for my husbands birthday in Russell after going on the hole in the rock tour. Instead of going back to paihia, we hopped off at Russell after finding out the ferry back, runs hourly until 10pm! we walked up the street parusing the menus, but when we came across the wharf, its location, and the stonegrill menu (what more could a man want?!) it was a no brainer! The fellow running the whole floor was great, friendly, welcoming abd full of energy. We sat in the sun with some ciders and shared a few starters followed by a carnivores stonegrill. Great way to entertain my BBQ loving hubby, but also healthy as it comes with heaps of vegies. After a holiday filled with overindulgence, it was nice to have something that didn't make us feel like beached whales :-) for the experience we had, we felt it was good value money and would happily recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin_katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Some meat lovers in the group but don't want to ignore the seafood foodies?”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Menus at a restaurant are always a tricky thing if going out in a group. It is very difficult to please a crowd but The Wharf delivered in this regards.
We had been spoiled for choice in regards to seafood, after all we are at the coast. After a few days some people however develop a craving for a nice piece of meat. The Wharf is the perfect place to compromise without compromising on the food.

After a disappointing stroll down the promenade, the unmentionable Duke was not an option after our previous disaster, Sally's was unfortunately closed and the Gables was reserved for the next evening, we were about to head home to a cold sandwich for dinner. Somehow we decided to check The Wharf, the outside dinning seating proved just too tempting not to see whether there would be some nice dips and bread, what a surprise!

The menu offered something for everyone, we had a seafood risotto, creamy with good pieces of seafood; the green lipped mussels; and the angus beef fillet served on a hot stone. The beef was one of the best cuts we have seen in the Bay and we even asked where their butcher was...

The mains were so good that we were happy and full as they say. The friendly staff asked whether we would like a look at the desert and it kept coming, the chocolate fondue was a delight as was the ice selection.

A definite winner and bookmarked for our next trip....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TSkippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf - Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Wharf - Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing