We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great meal”

The Gables Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $42
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Zealand's oldest operating Restaurant, The Gables offers fine food and wine in a stunning waterfront setting.
Herts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great meal”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent food and service, with in a fabulous waterfront setting. The gables is more expensive then it's neighbours but justifies the extra. A great meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    180
    37
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Liked the setting and view over the bay. Ordered seafood salad which was tasty but could have had more seafood in it. My partner found all of her prawns still had their poo sacks intact which was failrly offputting. Overall just average.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good mussels!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went there for lunch. Great mussels and nice waterfront location. Good service! Similar to Duke of M. but smaller and less pretencious.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vibur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We are staying in The Gables apartment upstairs above this lovely restaurant whilst on holiday. The tempting aroma coming from below got the better of us and we booked a table by the window last night.
The food, wine list and service was first class. I enjoyed the flash cooked lamb lion and my wife had the ink squid seafood pasta. The deserts that followed were amazing. We highly recommend if you are in Russell that you eat here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank macOceanGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to dine here again”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped in here after catching the ferry across to Russell from Paihia. Everything about this place is 5-star - particularly the staff who were above and beyond friendly. The food was cooked absolutely superbly, definitely one of the nicest meals we've ever had. The interior is lovely and nicely decorated. It was unfortunately too cold to sit outside the night we visited, as the view from the tables would be stunning. We will definitely be eating here every time we visit the Bay of Islands. Extremely impressed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gables Restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Gables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing