We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely superb restaurant in this sleepy town”

The Gables Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $42
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Zealand's oldest operating Restaurant, The Gables offers fine food and wine in a stunning waterfront setting.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb restaurant in this sleepy town”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I can't really fault the Gables restaurant in any way and it was one of the best meals that I've had in a while.

We both had the black angus sirloin served with blue cheese mash, portobello mushrooms,
buttered spinach & port wine jus for our mains. The steaks were great quality and perfectly cooked. The blue cheese mash was a great partner for the steak and something we'll be doing ourselves.

For dessert I had the the chocolate nemisis - flourless chocolate cake served with fig and honey
ice cream wand raspberry coulis which was really nice. The raspberry coulis was perfect with the chocolate and that was a surprise because I don't normally like fruit with chocolate. My partner had the sticky toffee pudding, vanilla bean ice cream, butterscotch sauce. It was the perfect sticky toffee pudding.

This isn't quite fine dining and the prices are relatively steep. But it was still worth every penny. Especially as this was after after a disappointing meal at Sally's on our first night. If you have two nights in Russell just eat at the Gables twice as it's a real cut above the rest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    181
    37
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner at "The Gables"”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We tried The Gables as a result of the good reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. It was a quiet night, perhaps because the weather was not good, but it was obvious other diners were also more than happy with their evenings. A lovely fire also made the old dining room cosy.
I had the Angus sirloin, which was beautifully tender, and my husband had the fish of the day - gurnard - which he pronounced delicious. I had the sticky toffee pudding - lovely, and enhanced with the pistaccios. My husband had the fruit salad with sorbet, which was a picture to behold, and also pronounced delicious. The waitress who looked after everyone was pleasant and very well informed. This is one of the best restaurants we have visited in quite some time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janw0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire England
Level Contributor
304 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Sunset dinner”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The food and service were both excellent and we really enjoyed looking across the water towards Paihia watching the sun setting until we had to get up and catch the ferry back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Best in Russell...do not waste your time going anywhere else :)We went to the Duke on our second night for dinner and regretted not going back to Gables- we ended there for coffee and dessert!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ransy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seafood Linguine to die for...”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had the most fantastic meal in this restaurant on a recent trip to Russell, NZ. Despite advising they were very busy (we hadn't booked) we were seated soon and the food was not more than 15mins...even so they brought a little taster to apologise fo the wait. The service really was great. It's a quaint place with a lovely atmosphere and, if you can grab a table at the front, the most beautiful views across the sea!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lennie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gables Restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Gables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing