We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally unexpected brilliance!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables Restaurant

The Gables Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $42
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Zealand's oldest operating Restaurant, The Gables offers fine food and wine in a stunning waterfront setting.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally unexpected brilliance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Wow, what a fantastic meal!

Manuka smoked fillet steak an absolute treat, preceded by seared scallops, wonderful! Very attentive and knowlegable staff.

Honestly one of the best meals I have ever eaten, including the best that London and Europe has to offer. My partner had the chowder followed by local Hapuka fish dish which was also excellent.

9/10, recommended.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wings_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    180
    33
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longford, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently went to the Gables for dinner and it lived up to its reputation. We shared the Snapper for Two and it was superb! The service was very good and the atmosphere of the place was great. We found the price was ok given the quality of the food and would love to go back if we visit NZ again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Gables is perfectly located on the Russell foreshore. White linen tableclothes over nice tables under a pohutakawa on the beach..and it gets better from there. The service is probably the best in the Bay. The food certainly is. Then there is a very well thought out wine list that has some Kiwi iconic wines, for example Felton Rd Block 5 pinot noir. The package makes for very enjoyable wining and dining. We had a spectacular summer lunch on the beach and another evening experience for our wedding anniversary. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JVDKerikeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Snapper for two a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ordered the Snapper for two - but shared with three of us - we just ordered salads, veggies, etc. They bring you a whole fish! Delicious, pretty atmosphere, and fantastic service!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corinneandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loosley, Owner at The Gables Restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it and hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummalicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Incredible Snapper for two dinner. Fantastic service and wonderful atmosphere. We had an ocean view and the price was right. Would go back again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loosley, Owner at The Gables Restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi, we are glad you enjoyed your fish. We put in a lot of effort to get them as fresh as we can! Hope you can make it back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gables Restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Gables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing