We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
Review of Russell Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Russell Cottages
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

These self-contained cottages just five minutes walk from Russell Wharf are an ideal base for a Bay of Islands holiday. The cottages are three and four bedroom - though they can be rented as one or two bedroom - they just lock off however many bedrooms. Our three-bedroom cottage was about 110 square metres - plenty of space - the downstairs living area consists of a very large lounge/kitchen/dining area and a laundry room with toilet. The kitchen is well equipped with hob, oven, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher etc. There is also a gas fire in the lounge area. The main bedroom had an ensuite shower and toilet, with a bath/shower in the main bathroom. There is parking for two cars outside each cottage, and a boat park for those who bring their own water transport (like us). We stayed here 6 or 7 years ago and loved it, and we loved it again this time. Definitely our first choice for accommodation in the Russell/Paihia area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaiteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    41
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
75
89
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My hubby and I stayed here for 4 nights for a quiet getaway minus children. It was exactly as I expected having read the other reviews on tripadvisor.
We stayed in a 1 bed cottage. All the cottages have up to 4 bedrooms so if you book a 1 bed then the other rooms are locked.
Check in was straightforward - Nathalie on the reception was polite and helpful.
The cottage was furnished with quality furniture. The dishwasher, oven, hob and hood were all Smeg so excellent quality which is great as I like to cook.
It really had everything we needed and was nice and quiet. We even had our own garden!
We used the spa and pool quite a bit. The pool is solar heated so was a pleasant temperature. The spa was around 39 degrees and has some great seating choices and jets - not a basic spa. This made all the difference and we do like our spas!
Overall we were very impressed.
The only downsides were that there is no aircon at all - which might not be a problem but we're used to having it in our bedroom at home. Also the sheets weren't changed at all for the duration of our stay. I would have liked this as we did get a bit sweaty at night.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages have their own private garden - some are more open. We had noi. 11 which was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent our wedding anniversary in pretty Russell and booked a 2 bedroom cottage (we like lots of space). The 3rd bedroom was locked off, but we had the master with ensuite, a 2nd dbl bedroom and a bathroom, all uptstairs. Downstairs was a laundry (with another toilet) and a spacious open plan kitchen, dining, living area. 2 sets of French doors led out to the deck.
It was a lovely cottage, so spacious and comfortable, great accommodation.
There was tea/coffee making facilities in the kitchen and toiletries in the bathrooms which was unexpected in self catering accommodation. For just 2 nights we chose to not to have the cottage serviced, but there were plenty of towels etc anyway.
The beach area with shops and restaurants was less than 5 mins away.
It may be different at peak times, because the cottages are close to each other, but it was very quiet while we were there.
Due to delays with our flight, we arrived close to midnight, but we had informed Shirley and she had everything under control for our late arrival.
All in all a great choice for a private and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmeraldDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This review is a little late but I thought better late than never....We stayed at the Russell Cottages in January 2014. There were 2 families and we stayed in the 4 bedroom cottage which was perfect for us. It was clean, well appointed, service was great and central to everything in Russel...which I need to add is a beautiful seaside town!! The only drawback was no airconditioning and it was hot while we were there making the upstairs bedrooms quite stuffy and hot. I would also like to see a top sheet over the doona / blanket but that is just a personal hygiene thing with me....Or a doona cover to cover the duvet / doona. But a great place to stay and a really wonderful find!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for four nights, at last minute after our resort location in Paihia fell through. We asked for a 2-person rate and paid $150 per night, they closed off the second level and we did not pay for any room services. Great value. We stayed in house #12 and would recommend it.

The cottages were located close to town (everything is within a stone's throw), the gardens are nicely maintained. We did not use the pool onsite but it looked clean and open at all hours.

It might be worth noting that the furniture and floorings are very nice although there are signs of some wear and tear so there are some imperfections but to me this adds to the character and so did not bother us at all.

There was a full kitchen and laundry facilities (washer and dryer), clothes horse for drying clothes outside and plenty of tea as well as a small milk when we arrived. (I think the only thing we didn't have in the building was kitchen towels).

Russell is quaint and much nicer than Paihia. Russell cottages is a great location and option for accommodation if you like self-catering.

Room Tip: We recommend #12
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed three nights in one of the well-appointed cottages. We were two couples in a three bedroom cottage (one of the bedrooms was closed off). We had two decent sized bedrooms upstairs along with two bathrooms, one ensuite. There was another half bath downstairs and a laundry room which was most helpful. The great room consists of a large kitchen with all the necessary gadgets, a dining area, and a lovely living room with a flat screen TV. There is a covered porch outside with table and chairs. Our cost was $NZ225/couple/night which was reasonable for these accommodations. The pool and hot tub were extra bonuses because we found the bay water quite chilly. The cottages are only a couple of blocks from the water, and this distance makes them very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanI297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed a few nights and this was a lovely place to stay, very central to everything in Russell, great place if you want your own independence to cook for yourself, cottage also has laundry facilities as well. Very spacious, our cottage had a nice little deck to be able to sit outside as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Binny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Cottages

Property: Russell Cottages
Address: 16 Chapel Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#2 Family Hotel in Russell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Russell Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from traditional timber weather board, the three and four bedroom cottages have solid timber floors, raked timber ceilings and are fully appointed to a very high standard. Sold as 1 & 2 bedroom cottages as well as 3 & 4 bedroom, Russell Cottages has accommodation to suit all, from couples and honeymooners to families and groups, up to 8 can sleep in one cottage. Space to work, to entertain, to relax, and to host family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Russell Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Cottages Hotel Russell
Russell Cottages New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing