We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely place to stay”
Review of Russell Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Russell Cottages
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We shared a cottage with another couple on our New Zealand vacation, we felt there was plenty of room for privacy and room to move around. It really is a home away from home, it was well kept and clean. The kitchen facilities were good and there was plenty of room for dining and relaxing. The bedrooms were roomy and one had a bath ensuite while the other was just next door. There also was a half bath on the main floor. The cottage was private and also had a deck and small private backyard. We were so pleased with these accomodations. Also, the proximity to town and ferry is just a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: There is a swimming pool for the units, the weather was too cool to use but there were a couple of u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank St_CloudTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We couldn't really be any happier with our stay in Russell Cottages. The cottages are clean, modern and homely. Because they are detached they really feel like your own little home, rather than just another room in a cell block.

The staff were friendly and helpfull [although reception seems to be manned intermittently] and the location is great, close to town but far enough from the action to be nice and quiet.

My only quibble is that the pillows were terrible!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrSnafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

These cottages are essentially a mini village of (almost?) identical designs but are tastefully built in the colonial style. Most if not all are detached. They are really everything one could wish for in a self catering place - certainly a league, and perhaps two, ahead of many of the motel units one finds in NZ which are themselves very pleasant. About 3-4 minutes walk from the seafront, with great cooking facilities, spacious dining area, living area including an outside deck, and bedrooms upstairs. Lots of greenery planted around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW1965Hitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to Russell. We were a party of 2 couples and the roomy accomodation offered was ideal and spacious. The furnishings were very comfortable.
Very well appointed

the swimming pool was fantastic and the well set up BBQ area was great. We had a lovely meal of fresh fish cooked that we had caught that day on the BBQ.

Short walk to the beach, wharf and shopping centre.
We had an awesome stay here and would be very happy to come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

With miniature self-contained houses it felt a little like being in a toy suburb, but not in a bad way. We really enjoyed our stay.

A stroll to the shops and restaurants of Russell and a 1km hike to beautiful Long Beach. Great facilities for a self-catered break, including BBQs in the pool area. Good pool and spa, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Russell cottages everything your looking for and more. The cottages are fantastic, very very comfortable and great to stay in. The pool area is great and the shared kitchen and BBQ area is fantastic. Just a short walk to the beach, a great location and the managers great to deal with. A real pleasure to stay there and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raewyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a lovely stay in the Russell Cottages. Bathroom upstairs and down. Very clean and modern. Lovely polished floors. Nice wander to the shops down the road. I would recommend these cottages to anyone and would stay again. Lovely fish and chip shop down the road too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleencanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Cottages

Address: 16 Chapel Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Price Range: $145 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Russell Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from traditional timber weather board, the three and four bedroom cottages have solid timber floors, raked timber ceilings and are fully appointed to a very high standard. Sold as 1 & 2 bedroom cottages as well as 3 & 4 bedroom, Russell Cottages has accommodation to suit all, from couples and honeymooners to families and groups, up to 8 can sleep in one cottage. Space to work, to entertain, to relax, and to host family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russell Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Cottages Hotel Russell
Russell Cottages New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing