We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay”
Review of Russell Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Russell Cottages
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

From the moment you drive in, this property is lovely. Around 10 or 12 two storey cottages set in beautifully maintained gardens. It might sound crowded but inside the cottages or sitting outside on your own veranda, it's really peaceful. The interior was superb, with polished floor boards, full kitchen and dining area. Upstairs were two bathrooms and well proportioned bedrooms. I could live in one of these places!

Just a two minute walk down to the water, cafes and restaurants. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    41
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
75
90
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Absolutely fabulous. Beautiful cottage....in fact a 3 bed cottage that would be very comfortable for 6 persons. Everything you need. Great little pool 10 yards away to soak up the evening rays.
Russell is the sort of place everyone would vote to live in....stunning village.
If it wasn't 12k miles from home we'd be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getaway247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Second time we have stayed and as equally as enjoyable. Great, spacious cottages with a garden for the children. Pool facility is a massive plus for the children set in a very clean and pleasant communal area. A repair to the dish washer was done on the morning of asking, our only niggle of the entire stay. Thoroughly recommended for anyone that wants to stay in the heart of Russell, in clean, modern spacious surroundings without having to break the bank.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom cottage in Russell - one bedroom and bath off the main area downstairs, and one bedroom and bath upstairs. The kitchen was fully fitted - very modern. Lovely modern furniture, comfortable beds, washer and dryer in the unit. Patio with sitting area and nice plantings on the outside. This looks like a brand new unit that has never been used - we enjoyed staying there. Walking distance to downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mudge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A lovely setting, with 6 year old cottages built to complement the weatherboard homes in Russell. The 2-storey cottages were beautifully appointed, with comfortable beds, and everything you would need in the kitchen and a great little laundry. I had to ask for a drying rack, as there was nowhere to hang my laundry (and I didn't want to put it in the dryer), but that was not a problem. They provide little sachets of washing powder, but if you want something more flash, there are 2 small supermarkets within walking distance. If you need a high chair or baby cot, be sure to ask for these when you book.

We enjoyed the pool area, which also had BBQ facilities adjacent, and especially loved the convenience of being able to walk to everything in town in minutes.

Russell really is a beautiful little place, particularly if you like somewhere with a bit of history, good cafes and restaurants, stunning views, and mostly unspoilt. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The cottages are all 3 bedrooms - they just lock up one or 2 of the rooms depending on what you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a lovely time at these cottages in Russell. The fixtures in the houses are lovely and they are very centrally located, although Russell is a small place. The houses are spacious and comfortable and the kitchen facilities are great if you don't want to eat every meal out, although there are nice places to eat within 5 minutes walk. Would definitely recommend for couples travelling with friends and families and would love to visit again. Pool and spa were a nice bonus. Also nice to have rooms made up every day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMWSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

After a lengthy journey from the UK we were so delighted that we were staying in the Russell cottages.Perfect location with every amenity you need.Superb quality in every respect.We had a wonderful stay and cannot speak highly enough of this accommodation .

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Didge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
279 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Cottages

Property: Russell Cottages
Address: 16 Chapel Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Russell Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from traditional timber weather board, the three and four bedroom cottages have solid timber floors, raked timber ceilings and are fully appointed to a very high standard. Sold as 1 & 2 bedroom cottages as well as 3 & 4 bedroom, Russell Cottages has accommodation to suit all, from couples and honeymooners to families and groups, up to 8 can sleep in one cottage. Space to work, to entertain, to relax, and to host family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russell Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Cottages Hotel Russell
Russell Cottages New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing