We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
Ranked #4 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway.”
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We would thoroughly recommend Flagstaff Lodge having just spent a delightful 5 days there over the Christmas period. The period home features large stylish suites, each decorated slightly differently. They are very spacious yet still manage to feel cosy. The common areas of the house are likewise stylish and gracious. The house is just a short stroll into the heart of the village or along the waterfront and yet seems very quiet. Our hosts cooked us a beautiful breakfast each day, attended to all our needs and shared pre dinner canapes and local wines each night. Ruth and Jessie were also wonderful sources of information about the area, booking us in to local restaurants and suggesting a range of local activities that all proved to be most enjoyable. We will definitely stay there again as we have rarely had such a relaxing and personalised stay anywhere.




the town, the house is perfectly positioned

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
141
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2010

if you get to bay of islands you must check in to the flagstaff. you will receive a very warm welcome with continued attention to detail excellent. we had been travelling and driving long distances and this was a most welcome distraction

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2010

John and I were attracted to this luxury B&B for its proximity to the water and its on site spa. Soaking in dual hot tubs under the stars while drinking champange is a memory neither of us will forget any time soon. Jessie and Ruth were lovely hosts who made us feel completely comfortable. We really want to come back to this haven in New Zealand soon. We are already planning for 2011 and would like to consider Jessie and Ruth new friends.

Christine

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmktg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We couldn't imagine a nicer place to stay nor more welcoming innkeepers than Jesse and Ruth. Our room was spacious, quiet, comfortable, tastefully decorated, and had every amenity we could imagine. Breakfasts were delicious, the lodge is located within easy walking distance of everything in Russell and Russell is a wonderful base for seeing the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZlover43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We enjoyed an excellent and memorable stay at Flagstaff Lodge. The rooms were just first class; spacious with high ceilings, excellent high quality boutique style decor, a huge bed and great shower! We tend to enjoy high quality accommodation, but prefer to avoid the big hotel chains – a combination which is not always easy to find. Flagstaff exceeded our expectations in every regard. The hosts were excellent and happy to offer information and advice when asked – but also willing to let you just unwind and relax. The location is ideal. It’s very close to the harbour where there are plenty of good quality restaurants. We recommend the home cooked breakfast! We didn’t use the spa, but did have a look. What was nice about it was it was very individual and spotlessly clean. We couldn’t fault the place and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maisondememe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2010

was traveling alone while my husband was working here in NZ. The place is superb. I am used to 5 star hotels, so I was a bit reluctant. This place did not disappoint. The town is small and charming without lacking of activities. Ruth and Jessie, the owners, go above and beyond to make sure you are well taken care of. The best muesli in the world!
The quaint spa provided me with one of the best massages ever!
I was only sad I could not share this gem with my husband.
Also, FREE wireless internet (not so easy to find in NZ)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paigep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Jessie and Ruth, with their attention to detail and hearty breakfasts, helped us both make the trip to the Bay of Islands, and in particular the Flagstaff Lodge and Day Spa, most memorable for ever more. Highly recommend this caring establishment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinatwalkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
278 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#1 of 20 in Russell
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa

Property: Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
Address: 17 Wellington Street | corner of Wellington and Queen Streets, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagstaff Lodge is a fully modernised 1912 villa providing luxury boutique accommodation in the heart of charming Russell. Featuring contemporary style, NZ art, local wine & delicious food with relaxed, personal attention from your hosts. The lodge offers four spacious en-suite rooms and a guest lounge – each uniquely styled – a relaxing courtyard and a boutique day spa offering massage and beauty treatments using premium Thalgo and OPI products. Just a 1 minute stroll from the seafront, the lodge is the perfect luxury base from which to enjoy Russell and the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing