We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful boutique accommodation in the heart of Russell” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique accommodation in the heart of Russell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Following a two week jaunt around NZ to visit family and friends, we had 4 coveted nights to ourselves at Flagstaff Lodge in the peace and quiet of Russell. Owners Ruth and Jessie have created a stunning lodge comprising four individually decorated rooms, a large, inviting guest lounge and a well appointed day spa. We couldn't fault a single thing during our stay and the main draw has to be Ruth and Jessie themselves with their knowledge of the area and recommendations for things to do, great breakfasts (to which we failed to do justice) which included home made bread, jams and muesli as well as a smart range of cooked options and great conversation with a pre-dinner glass of local wine and home made hors d'oeuvres. Knowing that we liked them, Ruth kindly sourced a oysters for us to enjoy on one evening of our stay. The day spa offers a good range of services and therapist Renee's treatments were outstanding. The Lodge is centrally located, just a couple of minutes walk from the sea front and a good range of eating places for a small town. We particularly enjoyed dinners at The Gables and the Duke of Marlborough and lunches at Sally's, sitting on tables by the beach. There is also a good coffee and Kapiti ice cream shop in the town. If you are looking for boutique accommodation in the Bay of Islands, Flagstaff Lodge comes highly recommended. A wonderful end to our trip and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully appointed with their own outdoor space. Suggest that you pick the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
139
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Wow what a place, wonderfully decorated with charming hosts who went the extra mile... literally. We forgot two things in our room and they brought them to us as we meandered in a holiday daze to the car ferry (we'd just got engaged there!). Thanks Ruth and Jessie - we're still embarrassed! So fantastically close to the town but in its own private oasis. Massages divine. Rooms were comfort personified and there is nothing to fault this wonderful place or hosts. Already working out our return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TickyTogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Flagstaff Lodge was an incredible experience for me. I planned a little surprise for my boyfriend and Jessie and Ruth were so helpful in helping me make the plan, right down to picking up a cake and a case of Lion Red! I can't stress how amazing the hosts were during the stay. The room was amazing. Perfectly decorated and nice furniture. The king bed was sooooo comfy I had trouble getting out of it. I also loved the washroom. It was spacious and clean and those things are important to me. Overall a really amazing choice for anyone if you're headed to Russell!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Flagstaff Lodge and Day spa over the weekend. It was a relaxing, fun weekend away from Auckland, We stayed for 2 nights. The decor was great with a huge, comfortable bed and beautiful linen and the bathroom was great with fluffy towells and great shower, the outdoor baths were alot of fun too!! Jessie and Ruth were wonderful hosts and had good knowledge of the area. They cooked awesome breakfasts, we particularly liked the homemade muesli and jams. Would recommend to any one looking for quality accomodation in Russell.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon Beach
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our 3 night stay at Flagstaff was superb. The property is in a quiet location close to the wharf, and is beautifully appointed, inside and out. Flagstaff had probably the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. The private hot baths under the stars are great fun and the breakfasts delicious. (Be sure to try Ruth's eggs benedict) in all, Ruth and Jessie's attention to detail is amazing - we felt totally spoiled and cared for in the most unobtrusive way. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_at_Avalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you are visiting the Bay of Islands then Flagstaff Lodge is well worth considering as a place to stay. The location is excellent, within a few minutes walk of the waterfront at Russell. Jessie and Ruth are very welcoming and helpful hosts and the accommodation is luxurious. The breakfasts are superb too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We could spent wonderful time in the Flagstaff B&B. The room was beautiful and cozy. The spa was also splendid with romantic candles. We could enjoy the spa under a night sky full of stars. The breakfast was so tasty, and I love the Eggs Benedict.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikuko_ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa

Property: Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
Address: 17 Wellington Street, Russell 0242, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagstaff Lodge is a fully modernised 1912 villa providing luxury boutique accommodation in the heart of charming Russell. Featuring contemporary style, NZ art, local wine & delicious food with relaxed, personal attention from your hosts. The Lodge offers four spacious en-suite rooms and a guest lounge – each uniquely styled – a relaxing courtyard and a boutique day spa offering massage and beauty treatments using premium Thalgo and OPI products. Just a 1 minute stroll from the seafront, the Lodge is the perfect, luxury base from which to enjoy Russell and the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing