We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Russell Old Time Experience”

Swordfish Club Bistro
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
609 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“True Russell Old Time Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Great beer and club food at club prices. Fantastic 2nd floor deck overlooking the bay. Perfect spot for a few drinks after a day in Russell. Great for kids (so I am told!). When busy be prepared to wait for a drink!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Swordfish club has a relaxed atmosphere and nice down to earth locals always willing to have a chat, usually about the water, fishing or boats but that's to be expected I suppose. Drinks are reasonably priced. Nice local Kiwi bar.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 639Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great decent bar meal for a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Nice friendly staff, great portions, great atmosphere and reasonably priced. Will definitely be back :)

Helpful?
Thank 202rochelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Spotted the club when we were looking for somewhere to eat in the evening, not too expensive, and just thought we'd give it a try. We were not disappointed. Friendly staff, good service, lovely food and very reasonable drink prices. We sat on the balcony which has good views across to Paihia. We had a lovely evening and would certainly eat there, or pop in for a drink, if we were in Russell again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were looking for somewhere not too expensive to eat and found this "club" upstairs on the main street of Paihia. It has an outside veranda where you can sit and have a drink and even eat your dinner if you want and watch the comings and goings in the harbour and down on the street. Food was pretty good and drinks soooo much cheaper. also enjoyed a couple of games of pool. Definately will be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swordfish Club Bistro also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Swordfish Club Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing