We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Motel Russell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel Russell
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Friendly staff, good location just a few minutes walk from centre of Russell. Extremely clean and serviced daily. Nothing too much trouble. Excellent value for money. We recommend as a base for visiting Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Perfect spot for our five night stay in Russell. Amazing value for money and the staff were wonderful. Missing keys "no problem" clothes washing facilities free . I'm OCD over cleanliness and I felt very comfortable. We will return. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Motel Russell offers great value for money in a very central location. The apartment unit was simple and clean, a great size and had everything we needed. Compared to other options in Russell this seemed to be very good value for money.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ReadingHolidaywanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Browsed the web for a good place for an overnight stay in russell, so happy to find this cozy motel. We ended up being upgraded to a bigger room by the friendly john. Amenities in the room was complete. Beddings and pillows was more than needed which was a good thing. Even had free roasted coffee for the french press. Coming back here for sure.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank krister b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Driving in to Russell with nowhere to stay, we stumbled across this Motel. Friendly at the reception and very helpful we were given a room for two nights at a good price. It also coincided with the Russell Birdman weekend which the receptionist gave us lots of information about.
The room was clean, with two bedrooms, kitchen, lounge, shower/toilet.
Well situated just outside of town (but no more than a 5 minute walk), I absolutely will be coming back here in the Summer to sample more delights of Russell.
Feel really lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoznAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here on one of our many trips to Russell, and came back soon after on a busy holiday weekend. We found it great in the Summer months to have the refreshing pool. Staff couldn't do enough for us, we were glad to find. The kitchen units are ideal for a self catering holiday. The accommodation is typically kiwi - clean and functional. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Some rooms have more kitchen than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flemso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and we received an upgrade from a King Studio to a 1 Bedroom apartement, it was really nice and clean. We stayed here only 1 night but I will stay here again when I return to Russel. The shops were really nearby this motel. The only thing was that the internet was a litle bit instabel.
We loved this hotel and the hosts are really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#1 of 8 in Russell
305 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Commodore's Lodge
Commodore's Lodge
#6 of 8 in Russell
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Russell

Address: 16 Matauwhi Bay Road, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Price Range: $81 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Russell 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Russell is located an easy five minute walk to the Russell Wharf and two minutes to the Russell Boat Club. Motel Russell has a range of accommodation to suit everyones needs, Queen Studios, King Studios, Twin Studio with Kitchen, One Bedroom Apartments that sleep up to five, Two Bedroom Cottage great for two couples, or the Two Bedroom Family units that sleep up to eight. The pool is lovely and there is plenty of room on the barbeque to sizzle up what you like. Wake up to Subtopical gardens and birdsong. Book tours, cruises and local activities at reception, management aims to please. Low weekly rates offered in the slow season afford an excellent long stay option for those seeking a quiet getaway from it all experience.MOTEL RUSSELL IS A SMOKE FREE MOTEL.SMOKING IS NOT PERMITTED ANYWHERE ON MOTEL GROUNDS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Russell New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing