We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round good”
Review of Motel Russell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel Russell
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent several nights here in February and had a really comfortable time there. We had a one bedroom apartment which was good, clean room with plenty of space, well furnished and everything we needed for a 4 day stopover. Most importantly, what we got was what was as described on their site. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great. Out of the main season, parking isn't a huge problem in Russell but it's a gentle 5 minute walk to the centre of town from this motel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would use the place again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euroamer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 117 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

This very friendly family run motel is lovely. Its very clean, every thing you need in the room. The owners are new but could not do enough for us. Wifi free. Easy walking to the town and beach but be ware every thing closes at 9.30pm

Lovely heated swimming pool small but ok

Room Tip: We had a room on the road side but did not experience any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are a middle-aged couple and recently stayed at Motel Russell for a week with our adult daughter. The hosts were friendly and very obliging, the rooms were immaculately clean and well-equipped and the location was quiet and with only a short pleasant walk to the beach and town, it was perfect for the 3 of us. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We recently stayed at Motel Russell with our extended family. The hosts were very helpful and the rooms were clean and spacious. We had our 15month old granddaughter with us and the hosts were very accommodating, giving us toys for her to play with. The pool and barbecue area was great and there was even an area to fillet the fish that we caught. A short walk to town for coffee - a perfect place to stay on holiday or for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A little tired .could not swing a cat round our room very small thank goodness only stayed one night . On arrival the owner (male) not that friendly some people skills would help .Did not like the parking on road front outside our room . Handy to town centre but would not stay again .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PUMPKIIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMelis, Owner at Motel Russell, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Hi.
I find it very interesting that none of your issues where brought to our attention while you where staying with us.We do not have any parking "out on the street" but we do have a large grassed parking area infront of our studio rooms and two car parking areas with in the complex where any guest,if not happy,can park at.
All our rooms can be viewed on line on numerous websites,but once again if a guest feels that the room is too small every effort would be made to satisfy the guest.We can only act on problems if they are brought to our attention at the time.Reading about them on a site like Trip advisor were you dont have to prove you stayed,is no help to us or the guest.If the guest would like to contact me direct I would be more than happy to discuss these issues with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were made very welcome on our arrival by our hosts and found the accomodation to be clean and spacious. Because of the rural setting, the peace and quiet and only a short and pleasant walk to the town centre,it made our stay of 3 nights at the motel very enjoyable. We would definately recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: 1 bed appartment on the upper floor is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very good value motel in a good location, all of 400 yards from the town centre. Comfortable rooms and friendly hosts. A great stay, peaceful but with the background chatter of the crickets to remind you you are on holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwiralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
293 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Commodore's Lodge
Commodore's Lodge
#6 of 8 in Russell
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Russell

Address: 16 Matauwhi Bay Road, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Russell
#4 Family Hotel in Russell
Price Range: $77 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Russell 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Russell is located an easy five minute walk to the Russell Wharf and two minutes to the Russell Boat Club. Motel Russell has a range of accommodation to suit everyones needs, Queen Studios, King Studios, Twin Studio with Kitchen, One Bedroom Apartments that sleep up to five, Two Bedroom Cottage great for two couples, or the Two Bedroom Family units that sleep up to eight. The pool is lovely and there is plenty of room on the barbeque to sizzle up what you like. Wake up to Subtopical gardens and birdsong. Book tours, cruises and local activities at reception, management aims to please. Low weekly rates offered in the slow season afford an excellent long stay option for those seeking a quiet getaway from it all experience.MOTEL RUSSELL IS A SMOKE FREE MOTEL.SMOKING IS NOT PERMITTED ANYWHERE ON MOTEL GROUNDS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Motel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Russell New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing