We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury time out”
Review of Arcadia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arcadia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 19 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We found the lodge via the internet and the pictures promised a lot - all of which was matched by experience. After touring Northland by car my husband and I were ready for a slower pace before heading back to work. Arcadia Lodge offered the perfect place to kick back and relax. Thoughtful owners served a tasty breakfast and the spacious rooms allowed us to take time out. Brad pointed out some local walking tracks which led us to the Flagstaff and nature reserves, lovely to leave the car behind and explore Russell on foot. The shared lounge and breakfast area ensured you met fellow Lodge guests.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 360 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed in over 20 bed and breakfast establishments on our six week tour of New Zealand and Australia. The Arcadia Lodge was the second one and it stood as the measure for all the rest. It truly was exactly what one wants in a b & b in a country you have never been in your life....it was beautiful, clean, restful, charming and the breakfast was delicious. It had tons of books, big windows, thoughtful touches of beauty, yet was by no means cluttered and fussy. Its light and airy rooms (we stayed two nights in two different rooms), comfortable beds and lovely hosts were the perfect thing. The fact that you could walk into the little town of Russell was an added touch. We loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heritagemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Choosing the Arcadia Lodge to start my husband's and my second trip to the great country of New Zealand to celebrate my 60th birthday was a stroke of genius! (and a little bit of luck?)
The Lodge is perched on a slack hill in overlooking a lovely bay filled with sailboats in the attractive and historic little town of Russell (New Zealand's first capitol). This was the view we were treated to each morning as we breakfasted on the charming and spacious terrace which wrapped around two of the bedrooms and the sitting room from whch French doors led out to the terrace. Breakfast was definitely the highlight of everyone's day, I would say - how could it not be - with a different warm "main course" surprise at each breakfast and otherwise a tempting and absolutely delicious array of continental style goodies - organic, thick yogurt, wonderful New Zealand honey, homemade jams and jellies, homemade Müsli, etc. The list is long and scrumptious!

The rooms were so spacious it was an absolute pleasure to live there - beautiful large comfortable duvet-covered beds, charming, elegant and functional bathrooms (we stayed two periods of two days each because the third day was fully booked, and experienced two of these large, double or triple-roomed "suites", which were very tastefully and thematically decorated. Both rooms led out to the "wrap-around" terrace so you could enjoy a nightcap while watching the sunset from your terrace or luxuriate in the beauty of soft pink sunrises over the little, boat-filled bay.

David and Brad, you have got it all spot on! Please keep it up so we can enjoy your genuine, warm hospitality and the comfort of your Arcadia Lodge when we return o NZ. Quality really does pay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuka_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Great B&B with an easy walk to downtown Russell. The hosts were friendly and accommodating. There are some great hikes in the area, too. We definitely recommend the Arcadia lodge. The front bedrooms have a fantastic view of the bay in the morning. Can't think of any downsides.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc3chuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My partner and I passed through Russell for one night and stayed at the Arcadia. This is the nicest B and B we have stayed in New Zealand. The location could not have been more perfect and the attention to detail in furnishing,interior decoration, comfort and food were fabulous. David and Brad were informative, friendly and warm hosts , and it was a real pleasure to stay at their house.It was an easy stroll to town but very quiet and peaceful. The view from the terrace outside our room ,through beautiful pohutakawa trees to the idyllic bay was sublime.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Brad and David are excellent hosts providing a welcoming atmosphere to our 3 day stay. Room was spotlessly clean with rustic charm. The freshly prepared breakfast menu varied each day and the quality of the food was very very good. Fortunately we had good weather so we could enjoy the breakfast sat on the verandah enjoying the views.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4barley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

It's over two years since my wife and I stayed here, but since deciding to start reviewing for Tripadvisor, if feel duty bound to share my thoughts on this place. Incredible. The guys were so welcoming, the room so nice, the breakfast so well prepared and the views so.... Go, just go!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.8 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 19 in Russell
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 19 in Russell
369 reviews
2.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
668 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eagles Nest
Eagles Nest
#2 of 14 in Russell
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Lodge

Address: 10 Florance Avenue, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range: $144 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcadia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia Lodge is an historic (c 1902) house with magnificent views of one of the most beautiful bays in New Zealand's Bay of Islands. The style of the lodge is simple and uncluttered, the atmosphere relaxed, the breakfasts healthy and made fresh using local ingredients. Five rooms, four en-suite, one with private, non-sharing bathroom. The large front deck looks out onto the bay, perfect for breakfast or a wine at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arcadia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing