We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect B&B”
Review of Arcadia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arcadia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 19 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A beautifully furnished house which guests have the run of. Very well equipped, with perfect service from the two hosts. Helpful advice and delicious food (and wine if you need it) - and all within 10 minutes walk of the beachfront restaurants, shops and departure points for touring. A perfect B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 333 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

B&B in a charming old house with homely feeling and fantastic views, great hospitality and yummy breakfasts! Very frendly and service minded owners. Rooms with personal feeling, cosy common room and beauiful garden.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotta_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arcadia Lodge is in a beautiful location, an easy walk from all the restaurants and shopping. Brad and David are fabulous hosts; we never wanted for anything. They were so kind and helped us plan our days just perfectly. The breakfasts were delicious, unique and satisfying... really memorable. The house is beautifully maintained and furnished with (what I think of as) a real artist's flare. We hope to return... and stay longer. Three days was not enough.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room at Arcadia... each is unique, but all have been given the utmost atte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arcadia Lodge is a lovely old building, which is beautifully kept and presented. Fantastic, friendly hosts, and the breakfasts were amazing! We would definitely recommend a stay here and will definitely stay again on our next trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed 6 nights at the beautiful Arcadia. We had planned 4 nights, but we were enjoying it so much we were able to stay on for an extra 2. We arrived at Arcadia on NYE 2012. We were instantly welcomed and invited to NYE drinks with the fab hosts Brad and David, other guests and friends from the village. It set the tone to a fantastic week in Russell. Our room at the top of the property was extremely comfortable, well appointed with everything you need and had gorgeous views over the bay and little local sailing club. It was a pleasure to wake up to every morning. Breakfast was served up every morning on the outside decking overlooking the same stunning view. Brad and David knock up a delicous home cooked brekkie every morning and are on hand to offer insight on the local area and useful suggestions about the best places to visit. Whilst we were there the little sailing club nearby (Arcadia overlooks this) held their annual Tall Ships and Classic Regatta which is followed up by a big party at the sailing club. We were warmly welcomed down here and enjoyed an amazing hangi which fed over 700 people. It was one of several amazing experieces in Russell. Russell really is a gem in the Northland and I couldnt imagine a better place to stay here than at the lovely Arcadia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_Downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Arcadia Lodge was simply wonderful. It was our last stop following a three-week hiking and adventure vacation in the South Island. David and Brad were perfect hosts: courteous, helpful, welcoming. Our suite was wonderful, tastefully appointed, and with a Cape Cod charm. Breakfast was great, with excellent cooked choices changing every day we were there. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My Mum and I planned to visit Russell during the Christmas festivities and chose to go to Arcadia Lodge without hesitation. Well it was really a good choice: this b&b is tasteful and refined, the rooms are comfortable and neat; breakfasts are rich and yummy - Brad and David are also very attentive to respect your own dietary restrictions if you have any; and last but not least the hosts, they are courteous, helpful if you have any request or need but discreet and thoughtful. We had a lovely time in Russell, thank you David and Brad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weirdfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
290 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 19 in Russell
340 reviews
2.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
2.4 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Lodge

Address: 10 Florance Avenue, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range: $154 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcadia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia Lodge is an historic (c 1902) house with magnificent views of one of the most beautiful bays in New Zealand's Bay of Islands. The style of the lodge is simple and uncluttered, the atmosphere relaxed, the breakfasts healthy and made fresh using local ingredients. Five rooms, four en-suite, one with private, non-sharing bathroom. The large front deck looks out onto the bay, perfect for breakfast or a wine at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arcadia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing