We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely B&B”
Review of Arcadia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arcadia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 19 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arcadia Lodge is a lovely old building, which is beautifully kept and presented. Fantastic, friendly hosts, and the breakfasts were amazing! We would definitely recommend a stay here and will definitely stay again on our next trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 338 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed 6 nights at the beautiful Arcadia. We had planned 4 nights, but we were enjoying it so much we were able to stay on for an extra 2. We arrived at Arcadia on NYE 2012. We were instantly welcomed and invited to NYE drinks with the fab hosts Brad and David, other guests and friends from the village. It set the tone to a fantastic week in Russell. Our room at the top of the property was extremely comfortable, well appointed with everything you need and had gorgeous views over the bay and little local sailing club. It was a pleasure to wake up to every morning. Breakfast was served up every morning on the outside decking overlooking the same stunning view. Brad and David knock up a delicous home cooked brekkie every morning and are on hand to offer insight on the local area and useful suggestions about the best places to visit. Whilst we were there the little sailing club nearby (Arcadia overlooks this) held their annual Tall Ships and Classic Regatta which is followed up by a big party at the sailing club. We were warmly welcomed down here and enjoyed an amazing hangi which fed over 700 people. It was one of several amazing experieces in Russell. Russell really is a gem in the Northland and I couldnt imagine a better place to stay here than at the lovely Arcadia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_Downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Arcadia Lodge was simply wonderful. It was our last stop following a three-week hiking and adventure vacation in the South Island. David and Brad were perfect hosts: courteous, helpful, welcoming. Our suite was wonderful, tastefully appointed, and with a Cape Cod charm. Breakfast was great, with excellent cooked choices changing every day we were there. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My Mum and I planned to visit Russell during the Christmas festivities and chose to go to Arcadia Lodge without hesitation. Well it was really a good choice: this b&b is tasteful and refined, the rooms are comfortable and neat; breakfasts are rich and yummy - Brad and David are also very attentive to respect your own dietary restrictions if you have any; and last but not least the hosts, they are courteous, helpful if you have any request or need but discreet and thoughtful. We had a lovely time in Russell, thank you David and Brad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weirdfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was our last stop on a 2 week Christmas/ New Year trip across NZ. From the moment we checked into our cottage, with private bath and balcony, we were in heaven. Brad and David have thought of every detail, to make a guest feel special. From the charming decor and finishes, to the delicous breakfasts....this is a special place. My only suggestion....stay as long as you can! My husband and I have travelled the world and stayed in many places, but we will be returning to Acadia Lodge. Well done!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are beautiful, but we loved our seperate entry cottage with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent the Christmas period in Arcadia Lodge and really did have a great time. Our room was lovely and had an amazing view over the water, we didn't have an en-suite but the bathroom across the hall was beautiful. Ever amenity was made available to us and we slept fantastically in the enormous, comfy bed.

David and Brad were great hosts, cooked fantastic and varied breakfasts and were very careful to avoid foods we didn't like, which was really nice of them. The other hotel guests were fun too and we all happily chatted over Christmas breakfast and champagne.

If you're looking for a B&B with charm, personality and friendly staff then this is the one for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful place to stay for the last week of our honeymoon. Everything about Arcadia lodge was perfect, the views, the rooms, the breakfasts and especially the hosts. David and Brad made us feel relaxed and at home straight away. They had brilliant local knowledge and helped us get the best out of the area. There was a delicious surprise every morning at breakfast as we enjoyed the beautiful views across the bay. Our week there was not long enough and we cannot thank them enough for making it feel like a dream holiday!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Russell hotels
0.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 19 in Russell
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kokomo Retreat
Kokomo Retreat
#4 of 19 in Russell
61 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Clendon
The Clendon
#7 of 19 in Russell
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Lodge

Address: 10 Florance Avenue, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range: $147 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcadia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia Lodge is an historic (c 1902) house with magnificent views of one of the most beautiful bays in New Zealand's Bay of Islands. The style of the lodge is simple and uncluttered, the atmosphere relaxed, the breakfasts healthy and made fresh using local ingredients. Five rooms, four en-suite, one with private, non-sharing bathroom. The large front deck looks out onto the bay, perfect for breakfast or a wine at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arcadia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing