We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, gracious, comfortable B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arcadia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arcadia Lodge
Ranked #2 of 21 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely, gracious, comfortable B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Nothing much to add from so many other positive reviews. Friendly, knowledgeable hosts, lovely rooms, nice breakfasts. Especially liked that there was no TV - enjoyed reading in the joint living area. We had an early morning departure for an all day bus trip to Cape Reinga, and they very nicely set up breakfast for us in the kitchen so we could be on our way early and not bother any other guests! Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank happy12054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
253
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Arcadia lodge is lovely, David and Brad are lovely and Russell is lovely! We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of march as 2 couples. The house itself is a beautiful old house on a quiet location with views over a beautiful harbour from the communal deck. We stayed in the Ranginui room which was lovely and we didn't think the lack of view over the water mattered as there was easy access to the deck downstairs. The bathroom was well slotted into the space and perfect for us, though if you like a spacious bathroom maybe go for a different room. Breakfasts were delicious with fresh fruit and cereal and really tasty orange juice. The toast was great and homemade jam delicious! Each morning there would be a different hot choice and they took into account any dietary requirements. Whilst there we went out on a boat 'Phantom' round the islands and ate at diggers at the rsa and the gables, all great and see other reviews. David provided lots of great info and advice on where to go, where to eat and what to see. Russell was a beautiful little town and the Bay of Islands is stunning. I thoroughly recommend visiting Russell and if you do you'd be mad not to stay at Arcadia lodge!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountainclamberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Bay of Islands is a magical place and Arcadia Lodge in Russell is the place to stay if you want to explore the area. The rooms are comfortable and furnished in keeping with the age of the house. The breakfasts are excellent and made all the better for sitting on the balcony enjoying the fantastic view. Brad and David are charming hosts who make time to help you with your plans and suggest places of interest.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leafpeeperbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I would not hesitate to recommend the Arcadia Lodge to anyone who plans to visit the Bay of Islands. Brad and David are wonderful hosts who make their guests feel very welcome. The charming house has a lot of history. Everything is comfortable and absolutely spotless. The view from the verandah is lovely -- a perfect place to sit, relax, and chat with the other guests. The delicious breakfast was served on the verandah the two mornings we were there. It is a short pleasant walk to everything in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marigoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

The lodge is located on a hill overlooking the harbour with beautiful views. The rooms are small and minimilist, but tastefully decorated with all the right touches. Owners Brad and David are delightful hosts, and go out of their way to help visitors enjoy their visit. A lovely breakfast is served daily either on a balcony overlooking the harbour, or inside the dining area if weather is inclement. It's just a 10-15 minute walk into Russell, where there are several good restaurants and bars, as well as a passenger ferry over to Pahia. It's a 25-30 minute walk over to Long Beach on the other side of the peninsula, where there is a lovely sandy beach. If we return to Russell, we would definitely stay here again -- it hit all the right buttons for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank commodoredavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Arcadia Lodge in January 2012 and had a great time. The owners, Brad and David, made us very welcome and were really helpful with the planning for our stay. The house is delightful, full of character and very comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous with excellent and unusual choices of food, served on the deck with spectacular views over the harbour.
If there was a better place to stay in Russell, I would be amazed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellersgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at Arcadia Lodge for 3 nights and could have stayed for much longer. The house is amazing, full of light and warm colours and is furnished with arts and crafts furniture and quality items collected from travels. We stayed in Takurua which has an amazing view over the bay and we had a spacious private bathroom across the hallway. Breakfast was served on the deck and there was an excellent choice of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt and fruit juices followed by an imaginative cooked selection. We loved watching the Tui bird feeding from the flax flowers just below the breakfast deck.
Brad and David are two well travelled, cultured individuals who made us feel very welcome and we found them very generous with their advice and information about the local area and its fauna and flora.
Russell is a lovely place to spend a few relaxing days and it is only a few minutes' walk from Arcadia Lodge into the village. Don't miss the Pompallier Mission House which has a beautiful garden and gives a good insight into New Zealand's founding heritage. Russell is also a good base from which to visit the Hokianga region and one day we had a wonderful drive over to visit Tane Mahuta the giant kauri tree.
Thanks Brad and David for a wonderful stay. We will definitely come back and stay with you again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.5 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#1 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Lodge

Property: Arcadia Lodge
Address: 10 Florance Avenue, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcadia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia Lodge is an historic (c 1902) house with magnificent views of one of the most beautiful bays in New Zealand's Bay of Islands. The style of the lodge is simple and uncluttered, the atmosphere relaxed, the breakfasts healthy and made fresh using local ingredients. Five rooms, four en-suite, one with private, non-sharing bathroom. The large front deck looks out onto the bay, perfect for breakfast or a wine at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Arcadia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing