We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a hotel within a B & B”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We had a lovely stay at The Whitehouse. Our hosts, Steve and Emma, were really helpful and friendly; they make you feel really welcome in their home and go out of their way to keep you informed about whats going on locally etc. The rooms were lovely, really well decorated and so comfy; the chocolate and the port were a lovely touch and we felt spoiled! there is a superb spa pool for rainy evenings and the breakfast is so yummy. All in all, we had a fab time and will be back.
Clare and Dave, Auckland, NZ

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare_quested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2009

Steve and Emma are great hosts. Unobtrusive yet always available to help whether it be the luggage, special breakfast requests or booking local tours. One could not ask for more besides the guest lounge is comfortable and the rooms terrific. Make sure you ask Steve or Emma about eating at Swordy's or joining the RSA for a night where the locals go for a few jars, good conversation and laughs. Russell is a small town during the winter months (the weather is very moderate) of about 600-1000 full time residents, so you can actually 'feel' the silence and peace. A definite must go B&B while touring the North Island.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ODERINT-DUM-METUANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

From the moment we arrived,the welcome from Emma & Steve was great.A beautiful B&B right in the heart of Russell,Steve does the cooking and puts on a magic breakfast (buffet style) only better.
The B&B has superb accomodation,with everything you need,Sky TV, DVD player in room,a good selection of movies,down to supplied slippers and dressing gowns.The rooms are beautifully fitted out and the beds are that comfortable you don't want to get out.We spent 3 nights,wish it was more,Russell is ideal to get away from it all.Hope to return in the near future.
Mal & Celia,
Neerim Sth, Victoria,Australia

Thank Mal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

The White House was as delightful as Russell itself. We were greeted warmly by Emma and Steve who were extremely kind and attentive throughout our stay. The room was comfortable, clean and pleasantly furnished and the bathroom was modern and spotless. We were impressed by the breakfast produced by Steve which was beautifully cooked and generous with a great selection. We would be happy to recommend The White House to friends and would return happily to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Loved staying in this historical homestead. Enjoyed the feeling of being away and having time out and at the same time having friendly hosts full of information about the area - where to go and what to do. They were attentive without being intrusive - perfect combination. Enjoyed having a beer with them at the local pub too! And loved the spa pool - just the thing to relax in the beautiful tropical garden. Will definitely go back.
cheers Steve and Emma.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Excellent accommodation in a quiet setting along with service that was attentive without being intrusive. We would not think of staying anywhere else in Russell. Thank you Emma and Steve!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOTU3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

The White House was our selection for a 3 night stay in Russell, based in part on previous reviews. This B&B has ready walking access to the 'main streets' of Russell, the renovation of the home has been capably done, and the hospitality of Emma & Steve was great - in short, we don't think there could be a better place to stay in Russell! The room was fine, the ensuite bath modern and perfect, and the breakfasts wide in tastes and very fine as well. Congratulations.

Thank Wyomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Russell hotels
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#4 of 8 in Russell
221 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 19 in Russell
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 7 Church Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Russell
Price Range: $118 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Heritage Holiday Accommodation in the heart of Russell, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. A 2 minute flat walk to the waterfront. In one of NZ's oldest houses you can't help but have a truly unique stay. Circa 1840. 'The White House' - the luxuries of a hotel with the comfort of a home. A fully renovated villa with open plan kitchen/lounge, 4 beautiful ensuite rooms & Super King size beds. FREE Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing