We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
brisbane
1 review
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

This house was beautiful to look at and in such a beautiful little town that we would readily recommend anyone going there. Food was lovely (gluten free and all), bed was big and comfy, shower/bathroom was excellent and we also ate out at Kamakura- a fabulous restaurant there. The little town was picturesque, warmer than the rest of the country, quaint little buildings. Generally a fantastic stay. Also a great looking spa but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alicante
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

A fantastic start to our holiday in NZ.
Every thing was perfect,and Steve and Emma do a great job as hosts.If you are thinking of going to the Bay of Islands,put the White House at the top of your list.
Mike & Jennifer Waddington

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m02wadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed here 3 nights on the first leg of a trip to show my english rose around Northland. She didn't want to leave and absolutely loved it. Steve and Emma are very chilled and you can use the place as your own. Can't think of a way to improve it. We will definitely be back. Gordy & Kay

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordy838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Beautiful house restored by Steve and Emma. Room was excellent as was the breakfast. Steve and Emma were perfect hosts, friendly, helpful and relaxed. Most definately the place to stay in Russell. Hopefully we will return soon

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Stanworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed at The White House for 3 nights middle of
February, it would have been more only it was fully booked! Not suprisingly....the rooms are great, really well finished off with everything you could want at your fingertips. Full use of the lounge and kitchen downstairs just made it more like home. Late breakfast was a definite winner. Best hosts too. Also very peaceful & quiet. We'll be back. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brutisHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

The White House is a small boutique hotel offering superb rooms and the best breakfast in the Bay of Islands. The location is ideal, everything is a two minute walk. You can park right outside and the car ferry to the other side of the bay is a short drive. Go to Waitangi where the peace treaty was signed it is well worth a visit.
Emma & Steve Jury will make you very welcome at The White House and cater for all your needs. The only place to stay in Russell.
Paul, Surrey, England

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quartztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Emma & Steve were excellent hosts in a beautiful part of the world. The Whitehouse location works well - just a minute's pleasant walk from the waterfront and restaurants.

Accommodation was very comfortable with nice touches including creatively styled bathroom, a good sized bedroom and great outdoor areas. Free guest use of broadband internet computer in the common area was another thoughtful and welcome feature.

Excellent breakfasts in the garden were a real treat.

Perhaps hard to put your finger on exactly what makes this place feel so special - but its something quite out of the box - we loved it.

P.S. Russell is a real gem - we figured that we had certainly landed in the best place to stay in the Bay of Islands area.

  • Liked — Fuss free homestay experience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DRRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Russell hotels
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 7 Church Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The White House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Heritage Holiday Accommodation in the heart of Russell, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. A 2 minute flat walk to the waterfront. In one of NZ's oldest houses you can't help but have a truly unique stay. Circa 1840. 'The White House' - the luxuries of a hotel with the comfort of a home. A fully renovated villa with open plan kitchen/lounge, 4 beautiful ensuite rooms & Super King size beds. FREE Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing