We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“P&M”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Tallebudgera, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“P&M”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Well appointed and comfortable room in an historic setting. The little extra touches made it even more inviting. The White House was well situated within Russell with the main waterfront area a very short walk. Our hosts, Steve and Emma, were friendly, well versed in the local area to suggest activities, attentive with an eye for service yet unobtrusive. Missing those wonderful cooked breakfasts in the garden.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRJ2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I completely agree with all the recent rave reviews, so I won't repeat the detail.
A lovely property in a great location with wonderful hosts.
I have no hesitation in recommending The White House and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0BINH00D69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Russell has always been a favourite place but the first time at the White House. We loved the old world charm and the graciousness of the hosts, Emma and Steve. Sitting on the deck as the sun goes down into the canopy of trees or having breakfast in the morning in the garden. It is actually better being slightly away from the busy-ness of the waterfront which is still only a couple of steps away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPMMarch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Steve and Emma were great hosts,always chatty an informative but never intrusive.We really enjoyed our room it was very clean and comfortable.The breakfast was really good and as my wife needed gluten free they went out of their way to cater for here.
We would have no hesitation staying here again this couple made you feel very comfortable.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnmh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

the wonderful owners of this B & B in Russell, Steve and Emma, make this convenient spot a winner in charming Russell. It is a short walk to the piers and town sights, all of which are right there. Breakfast is homemade in their kitchen and they even allow use of their washer dryer at no charge. all 3 rooms are up a flight of stairs and are not very large but are sufficient. there is a lovely deck outside the bedrooms for drinks or even a take out supper.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed 11 days at the White House and thoroughly enjoyed every single day. The breakfast we ordered was delicious and filling with several menu choices. Our room was made up every day with fresh towels and linens. It is a prime location, close to town and the waterfront ( 2 minute walk), yet quiet and relaxing. Emma and Steve (raised in that region) were an excellent resource regarding tours, off the beaten path beaches, places to visit and eat. And boy did we did enjoy some amazing meals! Russell is a delightful town and it does not have a feel of being over run by tourism (which we so much apprreciate) yet so much to do and see. Everywhere you look is beauty! We would highly recommend the B&B to couples and/or singles needing rest, relaxation and adventure! Thank you Steve and Emma for one of our favorite vacations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Only three days at this beautiful home while I was scuba diving with
Northland Dive Centre. Andrea our host couldn't enough for us. My wife a non- diver had a very relaxing time, the bedroom,house, food and ambiance was delightful. Certainly will suggest my friends have a stay there.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdjulesdt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Russell hotels
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 7 Church Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The White House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Heritage Holiday Accommodation in the heart of Russell, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. A 2 minute flat walk to the waterfront. In one of NZ's oldest houses you can't help but have a truly unique stay. Circa 1840. 'The White House' - the luxuries of a hotel with the comfort of a home. A fully renovated villa with open plan kitchen/lounge, 4 beautiful ensuite rooms & Super King size beds. FREE Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing