We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little piece of history”
Review of Christ Church

Christ Church
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$169.10*
and up
Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland
Ranked #4 of 27 things to do in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nau mai, haere and welcome to Christ Church, New Zealand's oldest existing church and cemetery. A digital walk can be downloaded from the App stores from Hikoi Tahi Walking Tours which share the fascinating stories of some of the people buried here. Enjoy visiting our cemetery and do visit our beautiful church.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great little piece of history”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A beautiful little church with so much history in the cemetery. Gives you a glimpse into the past. Kids love the bullet hole in the wall.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cynthia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    93
    17
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lots of history and love here.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Without a formal tour, we toured the church ourselves. There are handmade cross stitch pillows on every seat! Books explain some of Russell's history, and the headstones are revealing too. We wondered why so many people of all genders and ages died in certain years, for instance. This beautiful old church has stories to tell. Well worth the hour we spent there!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rcurry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historic and welcoming church”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lovely welcoming church and we were lucky enough to be there at the same time as the Bishop. Interesting history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BingleyJeanneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great venue for a wedding!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had our wedding at Christ Church and had great support and help from all those involved within the Church community. Despite being open to the public, they were more than happy for us to reserve time for practices etc... and accommodated our dream wedding. We had around 120 people and they fitted in comfortably, as an added bonus the church has air con which was essential on the day of our wedding.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HK_kiwi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely, old church”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had a great time wandering around the church cemetery, looking at the headstones from hundreds of years back. Beautiful little garden, great place to see in Russell.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church also viewed

 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing