We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This fabulous place is a taste of Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ranked #5 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Eagle, Idaho
1 review
“This fabulous place is a taste of Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Visiting Russell New Zealand is a must for tourists!!! We were so fortunate to have been able to stay at Marilyn Nicklin's Bed and Breakfast. Not only are the rooms so wonderful and relaxing; Marilyn receives you with open arms and genuine welcomes.
The mornings bring in beautiful smells from the kitchen , that one is anxiously awaiting what has been prepared from the kitchen. Each morning was a great surprise! We had salmon with eggs, homemade bread and jams, fruit, cereal, and bacon just to name a few. Please do not miss this exciting and relaxing home! Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzaliaEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
92
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

great, cute and romantic accommodation, lovely surroundings and superb breakfast.
This is the spot for any occasion - don't miss it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viv_sash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

Thank you Marilyn for a lovely stay, you were the perfect host. Staying at Ounuwhao was a great introduction to Russell. We will definitely come back for a visit and for Lee’s freshly baked plum cake and your divine zucchini & feta fritters with grilled bacon & honey/mustard dressing. Thank you again.
Chrystal, UK.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

One cannot miss the historic house in a beautiful garden next to a small marina. We had the cottage for 3 people and had loads of space. I think up to 5 people can sleep there.
We were surprised that it is so comfortable, two bathrooms were pretty handy. The pretty old english styled house decorated by Marilyn could easily be spotted in NZ house & garden magazine.
We did our own bbq, there was a bbq grill in our part of the garden and our hosts did'nt mind. Marilyn is a great cook, breakfast is to die for!!
To the main harbour of russell it is about ten minutes walk or 1 minute drive.
There is also a picturesque swimmingbeach nearby, which is easy to find.
If it were not that far- we are from Europe, we would love to stay there again for the next holidays!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwivac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meols
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

A very welcoming and homely guesthouse with excellent breakfasts and refreshments, great home cooking. Marilyn provided splendid advice on where to go and what to see ...when. We would consider staying nowhere else in Russell.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardMeols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

I was lucky enough to discover Ounuwhao 10 years ago while visiting New Zealand so when we were planning our trip this year, it was the first accomodation I booked.
I have stayed at B & B's all over Europe and New Zealand and Marilyn's is truly in a class of its own. I'm looking forward to my next visit.
Heather Kent
West Vancouver, BC, Canada

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZfanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

Fabulous place, amazing location, faultless hospitality and both the story and history of the house are fascinating. Beautiful rooms, oozing with character and the breakfasts are to die for! Marilyn is the most marvellous host and makes everyone feel so welcome. This place really is a home from home.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Russell hotels
0.5 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Clendon
The Clendon
#8 of 20 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ounuwhao Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ounuwhao Harding House

Property: Ounuwhao Harding House
Address: 16 Hope Avenue | Matauwhi Bay, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ounuwhao Harding House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ounuwhao Harding House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ounuwhao Harding House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing