We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Victorian Period B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ranked #5 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
WAIUKU, NEW ZEALAND
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Victorian Period B & B”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you are into historical buildings this is a must it has been restored to its former glory. It would be one of the finest Victorian period NZ villas I have been into and what a privilege to be able to stay here and experience it to the full. For overseas visitor it is a must see.

Marilyn is a wonderful obliging and friendly host. It is the small extra touches that make this worth the stay like tea & cakes on arrival, the home cooked gourmet breakfast with freshly baked bread and home made conserves, fresh flowers by the bed each day, choices of many shampoos and conditioners and so many more things to numerous to list. If you are into quilting Marilyn is an expert and the house is full of examples.

This whole package is an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: None of the multiple accommodation options would disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BASSA-DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
94
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clutton
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just outside Russell, about 12 mins walk to the centre with restaurants etc. very welcoming, excellent breakfast, spotlessly clean. Free parking and Wifi. The rooms are traditionally furnished with all toiletries, guest lounge with coffee making facilities, guest fridge and range of beverages available for purchase.

Room Tip: Check it is ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had an excellent time in Russell, Marylinn at Ounuwhao really is an expert at B&B experiences for young, and old. I highly recommend this place on anyone's list of must hit B&B's. The breakfast is truly gourmet, the cats are snuggly and the house is warm and inviting.

10/10.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you stay in, just make sure you stay inside the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is the very first B&B we have ever stayed at. Beautiful old villa superbly decorated. Great quiet and peaceful location with a very easy stroll into Russell. Hosts were wonderful and the breakfasts superb. Would definitely recommend and certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gade34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is an exceptional homestead encompassing all the beauty of yesteryear with the ultimate in modern comfort. The breakfasts are the best i have had anywhere with delicious home cooking and preserves. The accommodation has been looked after with fine detail including fresh flowers, arrival drinks, chocolates and a vast array of bathroom products. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to other travellers

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This wonderful house together with the charm of our hosts made this the perfect place for the Bay iof Islands part of our NZ holiday. The room was charming and the quilts beautiful. We were charmed by tea and delicious cake on arrival and the breakfasts are to die for with home made bread and jams and different delicious takes on a cooked breakfast. Perfect

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

What a charming old villa! The rooms are full of character with their old worldly charm and so tastefully decorated. The beautiful quilts on the bed, the fresh flowers, simply everything makes your stay memorable. The breakfasts are to die for and Marilyn is the perfect hostess. We could not have asked for anything more to make our wedding anniversary so very special!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UllaC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.5 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
279 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ounuwhao Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ounuwhao Harding House

Property: Ounuwhao Harding House
Address: 16 Hope Avenue | Matauwhi Bay, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ounuwhao Harding House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ounuwhao Harding House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ounuwhao Harding House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing