We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveler rating
827
345
95
24
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
345
95
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb seafood chowder waterfront room old world charm oldest hotel wedding reception small room new zealand wine list open fire overlooking the bay lovely location waters edge watching the sunset water front three nights marlborough
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the Duke of Marlborough. The staff (one in particular) were friendly and welcoming, and our room was clean and comfortable (if not rather small).

The hotel was well located, with great views over the bay. Breakfast was nice enough but nothing special (especially compared to others on our trip).

We ate in the hotel restaurant restaurant twice for dinner, and both meals were very good.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROLO01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018

We had a nice room with a balcony overlooking the water. It's best to park in front and unload. The free parking lot is around the block a short walk away. The hotel bar and restaurant is on the ground floor and there are several other restaurants nearby.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarylJ552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018

We visited Russell for a day from Paihia, just a short ferry ride. What a delightful village! The Duke is on the Strand, not far from the ferry dock. It is a beautiful building in the style of many of the public and private buildings in Russell.

It was a beautiful sunny autumn day when we visited and we chose to eat lunch out on the balcony overlooking the beach and sparkling water. The entrance and dining room of this charming hotel are in the style of yesteryear and a delight to wander through before we sat at our table. We just had a light meal of salt and pepper squid and a dish of cockles - all nicely cooked and delicious. Unfortunately, when our bill was produced it was for another table who had ordered more food and at a much higher price than we had ordered. Staff do need to be vigilant to ensure customers are given the right bill. But the error was fixed immediately.

We'd recommend a visit to this place for a meal, it is so charming.

Room tip: sit out in the verandah section if you can - it is beautiful.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenG724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

Wow what a great night! The service was outstanding, the food delicious and the atmosphere sensational! Would highly recommend. We sat outside but it was enclosed by clear blinds so you can still admire the view and the sun fading in the distance. The good wine selection was very good and the oysters natural were the highlight of the meal, beautiful and fresh.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

Very nice food. Friendly, cheerful and prompt service. Charming Dining Room. We were a group of retired veterinarians who first met at Sydney University Veterinary School in 1958. We had lunch at the Duke of Marlborough on 8th May 2018 after disembarking at Russell from the Great Sights Hole in the Rock Cruise to Cape Brett, Bay of Islands.
All of our group, numbering 21 thoroughly enjoyed the food and commented very favourably on the friendly service.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjdaniel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews