We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Clendon(Russell)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ounuwhao Harding House(Russell)(Great Value!)
$180
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park(Russell)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hananui Lodge Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park(Russell)(Great Value!)
$44
$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pipiroa Bay Homestay(Russell)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Tiki Tiki Ora(Russell)
$237
$230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagles Nest(Russell)
$776
$726
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveler rating
781
330
89
20
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
781
330
89
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambwaterfront roomseafood chowderold world charmoldest hotelwedding receptionsmall roomnew zealandwine listopen fireoverlooking the baylovely locationwaters edgewatching the sunsetstayed two nightsmarlboroughpaihia
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Duke of Marlborough. The staff (one in particular) were friendly and welcoming, and our room was clean and comfortable (if not rather small).

The hotel was well located, with great views over the bay. Breakfast was nice enough but nothing special (especially compared to others on our trip).

We ate in the hotel restaurant restaurant twice for dinner, and both meals were very good.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDLO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a nice room with a balcony overlooking the water. It's best to park in front and unload. The free parking lot is around the block a short walk away. The hotel bar and restaurant is on the ground floor and there are several other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarylJ552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Russell for a day from Paihia, just a short ferry ride. What a delightful village! The Duke is on the Strand, not far from the ferry dock. It is a beautiful building in the style of many of the public and private buildings in Russell.

It was a beautiful sunny autumn day when we visited and we chose to eat lunch out on the balcony overlooking the beach and sparkling water. The entrance and dining room of this charming hotel are in the style of yesteryear and a delight to wander through before we sat at our table. We just had a light meal of salt and pepper squid and a dish of cockles - all nicely cooked and delicious. Unfortunately, when our bill was produced it was for another table who had ordered more food and at a much higher price than we had ordered. Staff do need to be vigilant to ensure customers are given the right bill. But the error was fixed immediately.

We'd recommend a visit to this place for a meal, it is so charming.

Room Tip: sit out in the verandah section if you can - it is beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenG724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

Wow what a great night! The service was outstanding, the food delicious and the atmosphere sensational! Would highly recommend. We sat outside but it was enclosed by clear blinds so you can still admire the view and the sun fading in the distance. The good wine selection was very good and the oysters natural were the highlight of the meal, beautiful and fresh.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

Very nice food. Friendly, cheerful and prompt service. Charming Dining Room. We were a group of retired veterinarians who first met at Sydney University Veterinary School in 1958. We had lunch at the Duke of Marlborough on 8th May 2018 after disembarking at Russell from the Great Sights Hole in the Rock Cruise to Cape Brett, Bay of Islands.
All of our group, numbering 21 thoroughly enjoyed the food and commented very favourably on the friendly service.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjdaniel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews