We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We only stayed one night on a whirl wind tour of the North and wished we had longer! THe food was outstanding and our service from Nick the waiter was exceptional. We would go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay here but had a drink one night and dinner the next and it was truly exceptional. The staff are the friendliest most helpful bunch - I must have dealt with at least 6 different people and all wonderful. We had their signature lamb shoulder dish and it was the best meal we had in the whole of New Zealand. Add to that all the history and the exceptional view over the water and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Fantastic!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Auntylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this beautiful spot as a family of five. Our sea-facing room was fabulous - amazing views, space for sofa and sitting area, lovely bathroom. The kids' room round the corner was a lot smaller and more cramped, but also cheaper. The staff were all welcoming, friendly and efficient at booking trips around the bay for us. Food in the restaurant downstairs was good and the outlook across the bay just beautiful. The kids could splash on the beach directly in our line of view from the hotel terrace. A fantastic first taste of NZ life for us during our two week trip. One small gripe - neither we nor the staff could get the hotel phone to work in order to call the kids in their bedroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my 2nd stay at this amazing hotel. We were there just on a year ago and had to come back, and will keep doing so. The receptionist even recognised us from when we were there before.To be greeted by name was a surprise. Again, the food was fabulous, the views and weather perfect, and even though the hotel was super busy, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Cathy for all the great advise on sightseeing etc. NOthing seemed to be too much trouble for any of the girls on reception, and it is this sort of thing that will keep us coming back. Oh... and if you are looking for a great barman with knowledge of all the wines, then there is none better than Jeff, his recommendation of the Roaring Meg was spot on :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambigirl692001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A reasonable stay. Two gripes.
On booking I was told that it was a Beachfront room only to find that we were in a small room at the back of the hotel and we didn't find out that breakfast was included until we were checking out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcgannje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our room was small with glass doors opening onto a shared outside deck with tables and chairs directly outside. Therefore we could not have the doors or curtains open as other guests were sitting right outside our room most of the time. This meant no air flow into our room and with no air conditioning, it was very hot and stuffy. Our daughter and son-in-law had a better room with better and bigger bed for the same rate. Reception staff were arrogant and unwelcoming. Breakfast had very limited choice with frozen boiled eggs!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TP124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The staff was warm and gracious. Very helpful arranging a last minute sailing trip. The view of beach is lovely. The room was average - but clean and comfortable. We had to ask them to turn off the kitchen fan that was running and noisy right outside our room. But they did. So, probably the best available in the charming town of Russell, which we found much more scenic than Paihia.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sage_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback regarding The Duke. It sounds like you had a great stay in Russell and found our staff helpful which is great. We spend a lot of time with our staff focusing on customer service. I am glad that the noise issue was able to be rectified for you.

Regards
Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
293 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range: $90 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing