We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my 2nd stay at this amazing hotel. We were there just on a year ago and had to come back, and will keep doing so. The receptionist even recognised us from when we were there before.To be greeted by name was a surprise. Again, the food was fabulous, the views and weather perfect, and even though the hotel was super busy, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Cathy for all the great advise on sightseeing etc. NOthing seemed to be too much trouble for any of the girls on reception, and it is this sort of thing that will keep us coming back. Oh... and if you are looking for a great barman with knowledge of all the wines, then there is none better than Jeff, his recommendation of the Roaring Meg was spot on :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambigirl692001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

A reasonable stay. Two gripes.
On booking I was told that it was a Beachfront room only to find that we were in a small room at the back of the hotel and we didn't find out that breakfast was included until we were checking out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcgannje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our room was small with glass doors opening onto a shared outside deck with tables and chairs directly outside. Therefore we could not have the doors or curtains open as other guests were sitting right outside our room most of the time. This meant no air flow into our room and with no air conditioning, it was very hot and stuffy. Our daughter and son-in-law had a better room with better and bigger bed for the same rate. Reception staff were arrogant and unwelcoming. Breakfast had very limited choice with frozen boiled eggs!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TP124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The staff was warm and gracious. Very helpful arranging a last minute sailing trip. The view of beach is lovely. The room was average - but clean and comfortable. We had to ask them to turn off the kitchen fan that was running and noisy right outside our room. But they did. So, probably the best available in the charming town of Russell, which we found much more scenic than Paihia.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sage_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback regarding The Duke. It sounds like you had a great stay in Russell and found our staff helpful which is great. We spend a lot of time with our staff focusing on customer service. I am glad that the noise issue was able to be rectified for you.

Regards
Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I think a lot is forgiven about this hotel due to the really pretty setting, the friendly staff, great restaurant and Russell itself.
I agree with the reviewers about the very varied hot/ cold showers and the exceedingly poor breakfast. I don't understand how the restaurant can provide good quality food yet at the standard at breakfast is awful with horrid coffee.
The room we had was a standard room above the kitchen with a view of a wall and a glimpse of the bay if you put your head out the window.
The rooms at the front are much bigger and you may get a breeze which cool you down
We stayed here for four nights in a very hot early Januaury and the room was stiflingly .
If i went back I would stay in the largest room ( though it is expensive for what you get), eat breakfast out and get your coffee at the ice cream and coffee shop around the corner- opens at 7 am!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank magenta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hi
Thanks for taking the time to feedback to us about your stay with us. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Duke.

The showers running hot and cold was a new issue that came up over peak summer to a limited number of rooms due to pressure on the system – this issue has now also been rectified – apologies for the inconvenience it caused.

I have reviewed our complimentary continental breakfast following your comments and am satisfied that it is up to the required standard and uses good quality produce. We will continue to watch the quality of our breakfast closely.

Thanks again for taking the time to feedback to us.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We were staying in the small room, which was absolutely fine. It was clean and comfortable, but there were two major things which I think warrant the 'Poor' rating. First, the shower would not stay at one temperature. It would constantly fluctuate between scalding hot and freezing cold. And second, at 7am a truck turned up outside the rooms to offload a bunch of propane tanks. It made an awful lot of noise. This was extremely noisy and disruptive, especially for so early in the morning. Could this not have been done slightly later in the day? The lady at reception was also not particularly friendly, and didn't even give us the opportunity to voice our concerns as we left. A shame really, because the building is beautiful and filled with interesting history. Will definitely return to Russell, but we won't be staying here.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rockos58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hi Rockos58
Thanks for taking the time to feedback to us about these issues. We are sorry you did not have a good stay with us. I have looked into both the issues you raised.

The delivery of the gas has always been scheduled for after 10.00am and am very disappointed with the gas company for changing their delivery schedule without consulting with us. Delivery times have now been changed back to our original schedule and I can only apologise for the early wake up.

In term of our showers running hot and cold – this issue came up over peak summer to a limited number of rooms due to pressure on the system – this issue has now also been rectified.
I hope that you do give us a second chance next time you are in Russell as we do take feedback seriously. Thanks again for taking the time to feedback on your experience.

Regards
Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had a lovely dinner at the Duke, lovely atmosphere, character and old world charm. Lovely location in Russell and great outlook from outside tables. Food was superb, would recommend the Duke as a place to eat in Russell

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Binny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
298 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Price Range: $92 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing