We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights at the Duke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two nights at the Duke”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff at the Duke of Marlborough are first-class, as is the food. Really interesting place to stay due to the history of the whole area and this particular hotel. Good walks, easy ferry commute across to Paihia, excellent coffee and often dolphins to watch.

Room Tip: We had a room without a water view but it was fine. It was only to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanders89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    291
    73
    18
    12
See reviews for
173
650
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Just great pub food with nice cold beer and classic wines.
Sit on the verandah and soak up the views across the bay.
The meals are on the generous proportion size wise.
The snapper was as fresh as !
Being at the oldest pub in new zealand is worth the ferry ride across the bay, the dolphins came free ! An unexpected bonus?

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richardrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a great place to stay! Very characterful but with spick and span facilities and a really warm welcome. It's a great base for exploring the Bay and has a delicious menu to end the day. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Phone ahead and be aware this is also a wedding venue. Being an older establishment the sound insul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a "small but cosy" room and they definitely hadn't oversold it! It was exactly that, but clean and tidy and all we needed for one night. If you have more than one night and want to spend some time relaxing in your room, then probably upgrade from the basic room. Dinner in the restaurant was good and the best experience we had in the Bay Of Islands. Continental breakfast was also really good.

Room Tip: The "small but cosy" room we were in was above the kitchen, so we were pleased when they f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojozaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We originally booked The Duke for one night having found it in the Trail Finders brochure. Once we saw the hotel and the room we changed our plans to stay an extra night. Sadly the wonderful sea view room was not available. The sea view rooms are well worth the extra; room 1 was spacious well planned with a fabulous bathroom. Simply stylish in white with big comfy leather chairs facing one of the best views in the world! Second night we stayed in a standard room which although not as "wow" was good. The hotel is a place of character with excellent service,an extremely good restaurant with a quality food and fine wines to match. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the hotel clean, comfortable with attention to detail. Russell is a peaceful friendly place and although over the ferry from the main area it offers it's own 'spots' especially The 'Queen's View' of the bay where Captian Cook anchored. It is a place to take a breather in a busy schedule or to stay longer to really unwind. We plan to go back to just that! Great hotel great place.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolPeteG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I picked up a GrabOne deal for 2 nights including breakfast both mornings and dinner for 2 for one night. For $299 this is a bargin! This was a weekend away for my partner and I. Love Russell. The big surprise was the exceptional hotel restaurant for dinner. The menu had all the standard offerings but the quality presented was absolutely 5 star! My girlfriend loves oysters so easy choice and by all accounts to die for. The wine selection also excellent. We enjoyed the food and staff service so much we decided to dine again the following night. The hotel had already pre booked a table however was not in the main dinning room or by the window as per the previous night. I asked if it would be possible and after a little consultation...all sorted. This is the type of make or break decisions staff need to make and they handled positively well..great work. All up an excellent experience. If you are staying longer or paying rack rates suggest a larger room than standard, but given what I paid can't complain and won't. I'll be going back again regardless of any deal.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at The Duke for a wedding. It was a fantastic venue with lots of character. Amazing views right on the waterfront. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Lots of fun. Great Neat Meat Lamb for the main meal and the rest of the food was top notch!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
286 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Property: Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing