We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went on a work staff overnight stay to Russell and stayed and ate at the duke, the staff were more than helpful and the character of the duke was amazing, such history surrounding you. We had a set menu for dinner with 3 choices of entre, main and pudding. The mushroom soup was the best I have ever had, followed by the hapuka, once again the best, I would highly recommend going here to anyone, whether you are a visitor from overseas or living in new Zealand and need a break away.

Room Tip: If you would like a great view ask for a room facing the water these rooms are also bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Hunt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    291
    73
    18
    12
See reviews for
173
650
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

While we had a fabulous time in Russell and at the Duke, one if our rooms smelt very badly of urine, apparently it was wet carpet. Had to sleep with windows open, mentioned it to staff downstairs and was told it was wet carpet, maybe the option of moving rooms would of been a pleasant option but all we got was an explanation of what the smell was.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Duke for three nights in early August and had a lovely time. We got upgraded from the standard room to a great room facing the waterfront. A wintery New Zealand may not be a typical honeymoon destination, but we had a great time on ours, and the Duke was the best hotel in NZ we went to. Friendly staff, beautiful cozy old hotel, and a good restaurant downstairs. Just the right combination of picturesque fog and sunshine. You could really see it was off season in the Bay of Islands, but that made the place just more magical.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I can see why the food and hospitality here gets great reviews - and what a setting, right on the historic Russell beachfront.
Excellent coffee and a warm open fire as well. This was in winter - would be great on a warm summers eveing as well.

Room Tip: some rooms are quite small so ask about the room sizes, there are some excellent larger ones with vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northlander544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a delightful surprise to find this gorgeous hotel nestled in the Bay of Islands. The area is stunningly beautiful but this hotel was a lovely way to end our honeymoon after 3 nights at the Kauri Cliff golf resort. I loved the Duke, it's warm atmosphere, the magnificent wooden floors and staircase, the food was brilliant and exceptional value. Breakfast wasn't anything out of the ordinary but it was all we needed. Our room was wonderful, plenty of room, really comfortable beds although I do wish the Kiwis would adopt the American approach to twin rooms and provide twin Queen beds - the singles really are for kids and I'm not a huge woman!!!! All in all a lovely experience, friendly staff and would definitely stay there again. BTW, their tea selection was fantastic in the room - love to make a cuppa in a hotel room and this was the best!

Room Tip: the waterfront rooms are superb and worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Perfect mix of historic New Zealand, comfort, excellent service and New Zealand hospitality. Had an amazing family weekend getaway enjoying all that the Bay of Islands has to offer including some awesome beaches around Russell. Only 3 hours from Auckland. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had a fantastic 2 nights at the Duke, stayed in room 8 a very nice waterfront room, tastefully renovated, to a high standard, all very clean and inviting..even had a deck with table and chairs...the staff were very friendly and knowledgable and the food was devine..

Room Tip: A room with a view is nice to see the sunset..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
286 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Property: Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing