We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had Lunch here yesterday with friends.Fantastic food,great service the waiter had a great sense of humour good value.
And might sound wears but would have to have the cleanest and nicest bathrooms we had have seen in long time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
There are newer reviews for Duke of Marlborough Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Duke recently for three nights for a wedding, fantastic food, excellent service. Incredibly helpful and friendly staff. Well done, we had a very memorable and enjoyable stay.
My only gripe, you seriously need to upgrade the kids menu. Three different options of something fried with chips or tinned spaghetti, c'mon. Healthy options for our little people please. Put your fantastic chefs to work, if the kids food was even half as good as the adults menu's it would be amazing.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a family, make sure you ask for a larger room. We had a Balcony room, que...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A breathtakingly beautiful place set among the prime location and great beauty of Russell.

As soon as entering the building the smell of the old-world quality wood and the glitter of chandeliers greeted us. Sweeping up the grand staircase imagines of the many thousands of characters that have been here before me came to mind. As many said "If only the banister rail could talk."

Top quality beds rewarded us with sound nights of sleep. Despite the large crowd on the last night - there was very little noise from downstairs.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Waitresses had a sound knowledge of silver service waiting, a skill so rarely seen but always appreciated. This made for an enjoyable experience of dining with few interruptions to conversation. Food was delicious.

Helpful advice regarding our travels was appreciated and a good knowledge on local services.

We drove the old Russell Road to get there, wanting to see the sights but with the extremely efficient ferry service operating this made trips to other destinations easy to access. The Russel Road had wonderful views, sealed all the way and the best cafe/art gallery I have ever seen in Helena Bay.

This place is a must to see.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and found this perfectly fine. everything there you need and beautifully pres...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Russell is certainly a sleepy little place during the winter and as a result the hotel was offering an excellent deal on three nights accommodation. Although the area is obviously seasonal, there is enough to occupy a couple of days of visits around the local area and russell itself is a lovely quiet spot. The hotel were very welcoming when we arrived and offered sound advice on the suitability of trips out on the water which they arranged on our behalf. The room was comfortable (we had a small one and it fits the description) and gave us a good base for two days out and about Northland. For the price, we hadn't realised that breakfast was included and although a simple continental affair it tasted good. If, like us, you have multiple smart phones etc. the hotel is very accommodating on providing additional passwords, something we found a bit of a headache elsewhere on the North Island. We ate at the restaurant one evening and although the food was substantial it was perhaps a little overpriced for what was essentially good 'pub grub'.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakistandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Having just returned from two nights (not enough) at the glorious Duke of Marlborough I just wanted to share how much we enjoyed our entire experience. Even before we arrived the ease of booking and queries being answered within minutes made me know we were in for something special - and we were!. Our adorable wee bedroom had the heater on when we arrived (nice touch), everything we required was in the small (but perfectly formed) bedroom and bathroom - as a side the compendium is probably one of the funniest things I have ever read - whoever wrote it should get a comedy award! We had a package which included two nights stay as well as a dinner. We had booked in for dinner for the Saturday night and were asked if we wouldn't mind changing our reservation as the place was packed - and it WAS! But even with that being the case we still felt looked after all the way and the food was divine!. Honestly I can't find anything to slightly quibble about.... for a stunning 2-3 break you simply can't beat a stay at The Duke!

Room Tip: If your budget allows go for a Waterfront Room - we had a sneaky peek into one of them and WOW!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiactrss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a night in Russell staying at The Duke of Malborough Hotel. From the moment we arrived at the front desk to the time we left the staff were amazing. The bar staff, wait staff and receptionist were all so friendly and helpful. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the rest of the hotel had a lovely old world charm. We ate in the restaurant and the food was of a high standard. I would return again to this hotel in an instant and highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff-Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent the first night of our 3 night Bay of Islands mini-break from Auckland at Duke of Marlborough. What a perfect hotel! The rooms clean, tidy & comfortable (although very small wash basin area in the bathroom). A great location to enjoy great walks from & handy to all the sights to see. We enjoyed a wine (or 2!) on a leather sofa in front of a roaring fire before the most delicious dinner (originally we planned to eat at a local restaurant but as it was a Monday in winter all were shut - how fortuitous that turned out to be!!!!), local oysters, the beef sharing plate and desert. Breakfast the following morning was a great continental selection, perfect to start the day. The staff were warm, friendly & welcoming - always ensuring we had all we needed. We fully intend to return in the summer & stay for more than just 1 night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range: $90 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing