We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The location of this lovely old building cannot be faulted and neither can the helpful, friendly staff who were first-rate. Two things let this hotel down; it is 'tired' with torn wallpaper in the room we stayed in & as it was a double room, we would have expected more than one chair! The other problem was that it turns out this is a popular wedding venue (not surprising for such a lovely old building) so no matter which room you stay in - and ours was right at the back of the hotel - you cannot possibly get to sleep while the wedding band is playing! So best not stay here on a Fri or Sat if, like us, you are touring & need your rest. That said, the food in the restaurant & the service are first-rate - I highly recommend the roast pork rib, which was sublime! Breakfast is superb value - lots of fresh, tasty choices to set you up for the day.

Room Tip: Stay in the room at the back overlooking the car park for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diersett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We also took advantage of an excellent GrabOne offer to experience two nights at the Dukeof Marlborough in Russell, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our room was not large, but it was beautifully presented, with a lovely modern en-suite. We had a delicious dinner - lots of seafood - and excellent breakfasts included in the price. The staff were attentive and friendly. Yhe old-world charm was further enhanced on our second day when the roaring fire in the dining room offset the less-clement weather outside. Overall, a lovely experience

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janw0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Cannot believe we have such a jewel so close & unspoiled in our own backyard. I purchased this on a GrabOne deal - I don't usually do this as I find the service on those type of things second rate - this place proved me wrong.

Fantastic restaurant & superb service by (most) staff. This was a lovely quick getaway for my husband and I. We will definitely be back - even in winter!

Many thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Russell provided us with amazing weather, scenery and historical knowledge but The Duke of Marlborough was the ultimate in terms of accommodation and meals. Our room was arguably the best in Russell with outstanding views of the waterfront, jetty and those unforgettable sunsets. Staff at The Duke were friendly and helpful and the food was gorgeous. Our time at The Duke felt like a second honeymoon and we would now love to visit again with our family. We highly recommend The Duke of Marlborough!

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have outstanding views of the water, jetty and beautiful sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was fortunate enough to have a third visit (from Sydney) to the gorgeous Duke and Russell, most recently just last week. The room was fabulous and dinner that evening in the restaurant was very nice. Vicky and the staff are wonderful and so friendly. Breakfast is included and, whilst the cheapest Australian Shiraz was $100 (I'm not usually in the habit of spending that much on a bottle of wine!), all-in-all the whole thing (the room, food and wine) was very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The location, the food, the room and the staff were great in all aspects, thanks especially Jenny and Rachel. We are planning to have our wedding reception there and we are thrilled with all the preparations and we got a excellent feedback from them at The Duke. PS. We loved the capsicum soup and the homemade bread.

Room Tip: Sea view, its nice to wake up and watch the moon reflecting on the sea....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RezendeMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Visited Russell and stayed at The Duke during a driving trip of the North Island. Russell is a very interesting historical town with a superb location (you will use a car ferry to get there). The Duke was thoroughly enjoyable with a great location and an excellent restaurant. Be sure to have dinner on the porch. We stayed in a "cozy" room and it was satisfactory, clean, and reasonable. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
298 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Price Range: $92 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing