We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Duke of Marlborough is situated in Rusell, a nice little holiday town on the east cost north of Auckland. The Duke is perfect situated right on the water front and there was live folk music late afternoon. The weather was perfect and people was enjoying the good food and drinks at the Duke. We had booked the bungalow for our one night stay, which is more like an apartment than a hotel room. The quality of the bungalow does not correspond to the price. The complementary wifi does not work in the bungalow. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant and the staff did an excellent job. The breakfast next morning was very basic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEClausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Russell is beautiful and the Duke oozes charm particularly when dining on the balcony overlooking the bay watching the sun go down. Excellent dinner served by a Frenchman!
Breakfast was self service and very good.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little tired and very basic not what you would call comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Enjoyed 4 nights staying at the "Duke" whilst attending a wedding in beautiful Russell. We were advised when booking that the room would be "cosy" but we were pleasantly surprised with the space. The room was clean, very comfortable and well serviced. It did get quite warm so make sure you use the fan. The "Duke" is a grand & historic hotel much more impressive than I envisaged from the website. The location is spot on! Literally on the beach & two minutes to the wharf and shops, with stunning views across the bay to Pahia. We had a pre wedding meal which was gorgeous, with great service from the friendly staff. Really recommend The Duke!!

Room Tip: Cosy room was perfectly big enough for two (best option if you need to watch the budget) but if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lennie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A building with a very interesting history. Quaint, with traditional decor.
Staff are most helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable, clean and serviced regularly. No air con - a roof fan which was just ok.
Verandah doors opend out to a shared sundeck. Ony down side to the room was there were no shelves to store our clothes (tops, tees etc) and we were on holiday for six weeks so could have done with shelving rather than using our suitcases.
Excellent evening meals served by nice staff out on the verandah overlooking the harbour...........fab sunsets!!!
Bay of Islands is well worth visiting as is this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy61268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Amazing food, fantastic service. We had our wedding reception in the gorgeous function room. The Duke staff were a delight to work with - professional and friendly. Have had lunch here a bunch of times - always an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipB677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have just spent 5 days at the "Duke" in the delightful Bay of Islands, the room was comfortable,clean and well serviced if a little to warm.The ceiling fan really needs to be situated lower as it is a high ceilinged period renovated room.However the french door open to the sundeck
The location is perfect a few steps from the beach with wonderful bay views from the restaurant and a few minutes walk from everywhere. (Russell is very small)
The food is extremely good in the very busy restaurant as is the service, highly recommended is the seafood chowder, the lamb shoulder roast and the prawns,loved it.
Found all the staff to be friendly helpful and professional and we were there at a very busy Easter period.
Best spot in town.

Room Tip: Front rooms have bay views,warning, no lift to upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent minute steak, calamari and fish and chips on the lunch menu, we were sat over looking the gorgeous harbour! The service was very good and we all enjoyed our lunch whilst soaking up some sunshine in the gorgeous bay if islands!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lehcarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
298 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Price Range: $92 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing