We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Kiwi hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

A fantastic two day break in an incredible location. The Hotel was superbly clean, food phenomonal, and service to match.

Well staffed, there was always someone very close by, but The Duke has absolutely perfected the art of being non-intrusive.

Do try the "Truffled Mash" it is to die for, and thank you to our fantastic waitress Sarah, who was so lovely, and fun, I appreciated the real person who looked after us.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony are amazing with views to sit back an soak in, but for a comfortable stay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuntBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful time. The room was comfortable and opened on to a balcony. No views but not needed as we didn't spend much time in the room. Would suggest more and more accessible power points for those needing to charge cellphones etc. Staff were very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in The Duke for a friends wedding in Russel. The Hotel was lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was spectacular! We were let down by the noise factor. We were with our young daughter so one of us had to retire by 9pm. The room was located above the kitchen however with all thenoise we may as welll have been in the kitchen. The room was hot, the extractor for the grill goes through one wall, was like having a heater on and there is no air con. To their credit the staff were sympathetic and tried to pacify us with ice and water. I would stay here again, just not in room 22!

Room Tip: Room 22 is above the kithcen so is very noisy until 10pm. Also on the ktchen extracter fan goes up o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Superb location on the waterfront with wonderful views across the bay. Lovely big room and bathroom with balcony and big comfy bed. Good bar and inside and outside dining areas with good food and very fresh fish. Altogether a terrific experience. Wish we could have stayed longer and hope to go back one day

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fudges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a waterfront room with a deck. We loved it. Everything about this place is great. The room was well appointed, the location is great and the view from our room was beautiful. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntandKateandOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed from Xmas eve for 3 nights, as our first location in NZ. It's a very good hotel, in a fairly old building that creaks a bit (but that's all part of the history of this place). Great staff and food, the only disappointment was the weather, which was mostly cloudy and wet.

We drove in to Russell via the mainland but should have used the car ferry, which we discovered saves loads of time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinWard67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Booked the Xmas Buffet Dinner at the Duke, along with the Standard room. Cyclone hit Bay of Islands so weather was a let-down, but the Duke was a nice, cheery place to stay in a great location right on the water. And the Dinner was very good and a great way to celebrate Xmas.

Staff is very nice, let us check in very early, all friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, an extra twin bed might be of use to some folks, but decent amount of space in the room for luggage, and lounging. Mini-fridge is nice to have, and nice teas for the room. Bathroom is small, but clean and great shower pressure. Even the Std. room has a very partial view from the windows. I'd imagine in winter the room might get chilly as the windows are rather thin, but for summer they are fine, and since windows are just above the small car-park, it's quiet and fine to leave open. Bed is a little soft for our tastes, but still comfy.

The Xmas buffet was great! They don't book too many people, so not crowded at all, with a nice selection of food. Highlight was certainly the very fresh and very local oysters which were some of the best we've ever had. All the food was very good, and the puddings were excellent. Great service, good selection of wine at decent prices. Nice dining room, and was set up very nice for Xmas.

The continental breakfast is fine - breads, yogurts, cereals, fruit, good tea, coffee, and a nice selection of mini-pastries and jams. Included for free with the room and filled us up to start us on our drive home to Auckland.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would imagine it'd be even nicer on sunny days to sit out on the porch and be right on the beach and next to the pier. It's a nice building - old and interesting in the style but well maintained and nice lounges.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine. Decent space, and on the side of the building so quiet and even a very par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreyDSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
290 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range: $91 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing