We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 out of 10” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10 out of 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Duke in their bungalow for two nights and had the best time. The bungalow was big and comfortable. It had a huge bathub with jets, and was clean. The views were amazing too! The staff were top notch and made us feel like a million bucks. The food was divine, the music was hip and cool and it was a perfect way to enjoy watching the sun go down. I know we will be back, and we would highly recommend this for a great getaway from the hussle and bussle of everyday life. We felt relaxed and pampered when we left and I must mention the locals of this cute town were sooo friendly. Everyone said hello and really made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennymay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    274
    62
    16
    8
See reviews for
164
609
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunakakai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Duke recently when we vacationed in New Zealand. This was our last NZ destination before flying back home. It was a perfect place to end our trip. Everything about this hotel was lovely. Staff so friendly and helpful, free wifi, waterfront location. gorgeous views, picturesque little town. But the best part? Our room! Stay in number 5 if it is available! We walked in and our breath was taken away by the most stunning views through two large picture windows. The room was spacious and tastefully appointed, along with a jacuzzi tub/shower. We highly recommend this hotel in this quaint little town of Russell in the Bay of Islands. A beautiful location in itself. A memorable stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Duke of Marlborough as out son was getting married and the reception was being held there.
We had a wonderful weekend. Our room was very spacous and beautifully appointed. Staff were extremely helpfull and nothing seemed to be too much trouble and went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

The food was of a high standard as was the service.

We would not hesitate in staying again sometime.

Room Tip: The corner suites are large and sunny with a great view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Duke was a perfect place to host our wedding. From the pre-planning to the day itself everything went exactly as I had hoped it would.

Jenny, Bridget and the team took care of our every need and were always three steps ahead, making sure every detail had been covered off. Being an event manager myself I was aware that I can be quite pedantic and critical but I need not have worried – every request was responded to and actioned to deliver a seamless day for us all.

I would rate the Duke as being one of the best venues/hotels that I have ever worked with. I would highly recommend this venue and the team to others equally for weddings and for corporate events.

A number of our guests commented on the quality of the food and how pleasant all the staff were. I thought the menu was well priced and we got great quality and quantity for our money.
The main dining room has been beautifully renovated – it looks quite different from how I remember it as a kid. We had just fewer than 90 guests including our bridal party and this worked perfectly in the room. The room felt intimate and yet there was plenty of space to walk around between the tables and we had a sizable dance floor area. Having access to the veranda out the front was great too as it gave us a perfect pre-dinner mingling space and space for guests and children to escape to through the night when they wanted a break from inside.

The rooms are similarly attractive and comfortable and exude a comfortable, fresh atmosphere.

Of course being right on the front, by the sea is great as you have the beautiful vista of the Bay as a backdrop and the sound of the waves to lull you to sleep.

Everyone went above and beyond to deliver a perfect day for us all. I think the Duke are doing great things for Russell and I wish them all the best with their future growth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at The Duke of Marlborough Hotel with my family during our stay in Russell. The hotel was absolutely lovely and the staff truly couldn't have been nicer or happier to help. My family got two rooms, 3 and 5. Room 5 was larger and had an absolutely beautiful view. It looked out onto the water, and was especially nice in the evening when the sun was setting. Russell was a great area, with lots of little shops and historical places. It was about a 30 minute drive to Kerikeri and Paihia including a car ferry, nice places to spend a day. There were lots of great restaurants around, including the restaurant inside the hotel, which was delicious.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms, 3 and 5. Room 5 had an absolutely stunning view, but room 3 had a balcony. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just had the enormous pleasure of hosting our daughter's wedding at the gorgeous Duke of Marlborough and cannot thank Bridget and her team enough. This hotel is a seriously professional operation and our day went without a hitch. What a venue and what beautiful old hotel. Everything from the room to the food to the welcome and the sincere hospitality from every single member of staff made for a day that frankly left our guests wide eyed and reeling...it was so darn magical!

Bridget and her partners deserve every single accolade - they have just won "best country hotel' but really they deserve a gong much bigger than that. City counterparts could take a lesson in sincerity, service and attention to detail from this hotel. The recent renovations have been thoughtfully achieved - the hotel retains her beautiful olde worlde charm for sure.

From the hilarious karaoke night at the tavern part of their operation to the attentive and effortless service at the reception, take a bow Duke and staff. We could not have asked for more and sincerely thank every one of you.

We could not recommend The Duke more highly and would be very happy to communicate with others out there thinking about having their big day at this most beautiful hotel.

Five stars are not enough!

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are yummy, but we looked through all the rooms our guests were in and all were exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton East, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Sitting on the balcony, watching the sun set over the bay, drinking wine.....what a fantastic experience. An experience made all the better by friendly staff, efficient service, clean functional facilities.
Well worth the trip from Melbourne. If only we had time for more nights?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Property: Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our newly refurbished waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary continental breakfast is served to guests in the morning. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing