We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had a one night weekend stay. Hotel owners and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Standard bedroom was of adequate size and light. Restaurant meal very good and overall definitely excellent value for money. Hotel position probably one of the best in Russell.

Room Tip: A room facing the sea front would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pud48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    291
    73
    18
    12
See reviews for
173
650
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KAITAIA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just back from a bargain winter break at the Duke...great atmosphere, delicious food and luxurious waterfront room. Just what we needed for the winter blues!! And of course Russell is a delight at any time of year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Exceeded expectations, service was friendly and well suited to the location. Room was very nicely refurbished and had all the necessary facilities. Sitting by the fire on cosy leather lounges, knocking back a few drinks and doing some quiet reading was a highlight. Dinner was delicious, and location, right on the waterfront is unbeatable. Highly recommended, expecially for a romantic get away.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with verandah access. Size was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Mum is old but not frail.. we had a waterfront room as a special treat. It was absolutely wonderful. the room was beautiful, with a balcony and a fabulous view. Our lounge with fridge and tea coffee etc was very comfortable, did I mention the view. Bliss!! Bathroom had plenty hot water and was like new, with lovely toiletries. Another Bliss! We had requested twin beds which was not a problem and both were very comfortable, no electric blanket, but we were both toastie. We had dinner for one evening in the dinning room. Lovely meal and friendly helpful staff. Mum ordered the mushroom steak... thinking it was steak but actually a mushroom only ... thankfully the waiter realized her mistake and informed before an unfortunate surprise. All together a wonderful long weekend was had and a Happy 83rd Birthday. We will return soon!

Room Tip: Water front room was fabulous. Wish we had stayed the whole week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beansupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to feedback on your stay. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay and your mum enjoyed her 83rd Birthday – Happy Birthday from us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Duke for two nights with a small group of friends for a 70th birthday. We thought the hotel had been refurbished very tastefully yet still retained its old charm. The rooms were not large but adequate and the lounges, dining, bar area just beautiful. Service for our little private party in the end dining/bar area on the Saturday night was excellent (Thanks to Nick our waiter/barman who did a great job). Staff were friendly and helpful.
Probably our only little gripe would be the continental breakfast on the two mornings we were there. On the Sunday morning there was a full house and they were very slow in bringing out extra fruit, etc. Selection/variety of food was poor for a place so attractive to overseas tourists. With a little more imagination and thought it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylou51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We appreciate the feedback on your stay at The Duke of Marlborough and are very pleased you had a great stay. Apologies for the breakfast situation – we were made aware of the issues and have put in place some changes to ensure this doesn’t happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Beautiful, old world charm with modern facilites and first rate service. We were shown to our room, by the lovely lady on reception. The wait staff were amazing, even letting us leave the dining room to watch the Chief's game, and calling us when our mains and then dessert was ready. Nothing was a problem and i can't wait to return. Recieved complimentry water and ferrero chocs. A nice touch which set the scene for what was a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompallier64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed over the weekend in the Bunalow, the pictures online do not do this justice. Wonderful view from your own private patio, this is a perfect place to relax, the staff are all very friendly and helpful a definate plus.The free continental breakfast is a nice touch. The bungalow does not have side windows in the bedroom or lounge area but it does not really matter given the view from the front of the bungalow. The spa bath is lovely and relaxing too a huge bathroom. The bungalow is very spacious, the couch is very comfortable, the bed is firm and comfortable enough. The tea selection is very good with some lovely fruit varieties on offer along with plunger coffee. The bathroom toiletries are also good quality. The stay 3 pay for 2 offer we took advantage of made this affordable and great value for money. We had a great relaxing time and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
286 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Property: Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing