We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel rooms in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had a beautiful waterfront room and the decor was lovely. Great size and amazing views over the bay. Russell is such a lovely town to stay in over the winter months.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have the larger beds, better views and a big corner bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiJane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Beautiful accommodation in a perfect setting. Russell village is a wonderful getaway for a night during the winter months or longer. The waterfront rooms are a bargain during the winter, including a continental breakfast in the cozy dining room. Take the car ferry, or hop onto the passenger ferry from Paihia ... the hotel is just across from the ferry landing. Russell beach is wonderful for beach glass hunting, being one of the oldest pubs in the country. I have found some great pieces there.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms are beautifully decorated and you are almost on the water, across a quiet lane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurieandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Love the old building. Nice rooms. We had a room overlooking the bay. The view of the sun going down was magic. Food in their restaurant was not bad as well. A pleasure to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dububs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Room five with great sea views is just beautiful.
The service and dinner menu great.
Can't fault any of it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great service, great food and lovely seaview room. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Seaview rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed Friday and Saturday night with friends, and enjoyed spacious, sunny, clean rooms, fabulous food, a perfect location and great service. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Ignore date of travel with this as it doesn't allow me go back to Spring (in NZ) of 2006. Anyway -

The husband and I landed in Auckland early one morning after a 12-hour flight. Wrecked. No hotel booked. We checked in with the tourist bureau in the arrivals hall and in a flash were booked into the Duke of Marlborough Hotel in Russell - first capital of New Zealand. Alright, it was only that for a year, but still ...

If you are going to Russell, this is the spot. We, too, had an enormous, quiet, spotless room overlooking the bay. The price was amazingly reasonable - the staff so friendly. The food was FABulous. The fish ... scrumptious. We stayed for several nights while we toured the area - SO much to see - coming back in the evenings to have aperitifs on the large verandah in front of the hotel and watch the sun go down on the Bay of Islands.

Now you tell me, does that sound like heaven or not?

It was.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCP1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
290 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range: $91 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing