We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding Review”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The venue is old but presents well with period decor and excellent bar and restaurant facilities. We had a wedding at the venue an dwould like to ay that the staff went out of there way to make verything work well. catering to the allergies of several guests and making sure everything ran to time.

Room Tip: If you wantth eseaview view ask for the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    280
    69
    16
    10
See reviews for
167
631
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel is situated in a beautiful location with excelent views of the bay. We recently had a lovely seaview room with a balcony. We were very happy with the room, the view, and the friendly, helpful staff. The restaurant was excellent and the service was very good. We would definitely stay there again and have many happy memories of the Bay of Islands and the Duke of Marlborough hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We recently stayed at The Duke of Marlborough for a few nights, we also held our Wedding reception in the private function rooms & terrace.

Our room was as we had anticipated, good size, clean & tidy. The recent upgrade has really made the difference, feels really fresh but also retains the unique character that the building has throughout. We thought it had retained it's original heritage yet also bringing it up to a level of

We really enjoy the food at The Duke of Marlborough, each time we have had a meal. lunch & dinner have always been quality, with the fish & chips being a real highlight, not to mention the chowder!
Breakfast had a good variety of selections, fresh each morning & followed up with a decent brew of coffee.

With regards to our Wedding Reception, what can we say, the whole experience in dealing with Bridget & the team at The Duke of Marlborough was unbelievable.
During the planning stage (most via email), all our options were met & no request was too much trouble, otherwise a solution was offered to us.
We were offered plenty of assistance, advice for on the day & leading up to the event, which was all extremely useful.

In the final stages of coordinating, all aspects were taken care off, we were well informed along the way & advised of any issues that had arisen. We were also offered the use of the private dining room which added a new & useful dimension for the reception, was perfect for our favours & guest book & coffees.
We also had the use of the terrace on the road front for the guests, which creates a great atmosphere, amazing view of the beach, wharf & ferries passing by.

The day of the event couldn't have been any better, everything was perfect. All the instructions, preparation was followed & presented exactly as we had imagined. The service of the staff was outstanding, the meals were absolutely amazing, this was reiterated by all the guests who raved about the food & service throughout the night.

During our stay there were various small things that were done in & around the hotel which we didn't think of. It is the small things that really make the difference & we really appreciated them.

We cannot say enough about how good our experience was at The Duke of Marlborough, the hotel stay before & after the Wedding reception was fantastic & the Reception was a real highlight, was a truly memorably time for us, family & friends all loved it. The Duke team put on an amazing function & it's a credit to Bridget, Anton & their team.

We would definitely recommend staying at The Duke of Marlborough & We would DEFINITELY recommend hosting your wedding reception at The Duke of Marlborough.

Thanks again!!

Room Tip: choose a ocean room, great view & can here the water lapping on the beach all night... really re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfi-in-dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our family recently held a wedding at the Duke of Marlborough hotel. This is an iconic hotel
with a relaxed atmosphere, a pleasant venue for an afternoon on the deck and often with good music. The establishment went out of their way to accommodate the Bridal couple in every way, meals, bridal setting, accommodation rates for the wedding group. the service was excellent to our guests during their stay, non guests who dined there and also to those with individual needs. the wedding breakfast was excellent, the ambience of the newly refurbished dining rooms created a wonderful wedding weekend for family and friends
highly recommended

Room Tip: the family rooms overlooking the waterfront are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel Options United Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Superb location and friendly staff made our stay lovely and we would definitely stay again. We were at the Duke for a wedding and the rooms were great and catering at the wedding was delicious! If you can get a room with a sea view these are the best - we didn't stay in a room with a view but the room was still lovely and had access to a deck. The only let down was the cooked breakfast - eggs bene with almost hard boiled eggs, overcooked bacon and the bread didn't seem fresh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view - fantastic views and gorgeous layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 04KeenTravellers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked the waterfront room and suspect that this made the difference. We feel really positive towards the hotel, but weren't blinded, by it's magnificent location, to some of it's shortcomings. Our room was large, white, comfortable, clean, well equipped and with a large picture window with a beautiful view. The only sound at night, with the windows open, was of the waves lapping gently. Idyllic. However, reaching the room was via a more dated, hard to keep clean and fresh environment that is the old, character filled building. The staff were mostly very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was included but not very inspiring, just did the job. Dinner was excellent and lived up to the standards we're getting used to in New Zealand. We would definitely stay again, but only in the waterfront rooms. We didn't see the other rooms so wouldn't have a trustworthy opinion of their state, but we are pretty sure that we would have been disappointed were we staying in any other area of this hotel.

Room Tip: Got to be waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland. U.K.
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have recently spent three nights at this excellent hotel. We found the room we had overlooking the bay to be very spacious and comfortable.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Definitely worth a visit for either a stay or just a drink on the veranda when up in the beautiful Bay of Islands.
Great area for keen sailors !
John B.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thanks John – and thanks for taking the time to feedback on the Duke Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back at some stage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
275 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Property: Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing