We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Russell
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Pompallier Mission and Printery
from $165.15
More Info
from $21.06
More Info
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
420
124
15
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
420
124
15
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour printing press book binding printing works gardens are lovely rammed earth nz history book making leather tanning religious texts maori language pastries from france new zealand great tour learn how first impression
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A very interesting tour of the house and grounds. Learnt a lot about the history, and about printing and tanning. Our guide was excellent.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank S6432OVamandat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstyHofs, General Manager at Pompallier Mission and Printery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you! We love when our visitors let us know how they enjoyed there visit here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

My partner and I went on the Pompallier Mission and Printery tour today and it far exceeded our expectations! From the stunning gardens to the amazing history of the building this tour did not disappoint. We learnt about how to make leather along with how the French Catholic missionaries printed their religious books in Te Reo Māori. The tour guide was fantastically knowledgable and the gift shop is full of little gems. Anyone going over to Russell, Bay of Islands, must check this place out!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank livimills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstyHofs, General Manager at Pompallier Mission and Printery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We're delighted when we manage to surprise people with the history and information we keep safe here at Pompallier Mission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019 via mobile

Really interesting place, knowledgable guide with hands on demos of how everything works. Really added to my understanding of the history of the area and New Zealand after visiting Waitangi treaty grounds.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Sacha222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstyHofs, General Manager at Pompallier Mission and Printery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So glad we could help add to your knowledge of our beautiful Bay of Islands - there is so much history here and so many places that play a part in it! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2019 via mobile

Wow what a cute town. We had a beautiful morning tea then a fabulous tour around the printing area and gardens. Great guide and I’m ashamed to say I’ve forgotten her name, but she was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic... wonderful visit

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank karenm642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstyHofs, General Manager at Pompallier Mission and Printery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

We loved this place, definitely the highlight of our Russell city tour.

We learned all the interesting facts about old printing and book binding techniques and we were surprised to learn how many everyday sayings originated from printing. My favourite was ‘Out of sorts’, not enough letters (sorts) to finish the job.

We had a lovely warm croissant and coffee at the French cafe which was very welcome because it was a cold wet day,

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank JanetteE59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstyHofs, General Manager at Pompallier Mission and Printery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to Pompallier - and our lovely warm croissants on a cold day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews