We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely marevllous experience!”
Review of Eagles Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eagles Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed there with my husband for 3 nights for our honeymoon and it was absolutely fantastic! we were in The Eyre suite, it was amazing! the service is spectacular (everything you need is at your feet) we had a personal chef coming iver to cook dinner for us, a personal masseuse... and they stock your refrigerator with a lot of things for breakfast. So I would say this is the only bad note - if you don't like to cook, since you have to cook your own breakfast. But if you have a lot of money you can just have the personal chef come and cook you breakfast every day :)

Room Tip: The Eyre was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 144 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2011

We spent three magnificant days in Russell. We had very high expectations of The Eagle's Nest based on their website and reviews. Our expectations were exceeded in every category. Our villa, "First Light" is perched on a hill with the most most unbelievable, panoramic views of the Bay of Islands. The views from every window are postcard worthy. The villa itself is high end luxury down to every minute detail. The native birds serenade you every morning and evening from the tops of the lush foliage that surrounds the property. The conscierge (William in our case) was immensely helpful in arranging a boat for us to sail the Bay. We were treated with a pod of dolphins who tagged along for a bit as we cruised the many picturesque islands in the area. The tarriff is a little spendy, but worth every penny. The experience is certainly over the top-should be on every bucket list.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K9safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at First Light villa in November. This was the 4th and final stop of our honeymoon and was absolutely phenomenal accommodation. Besides the breathtaking natural beauty of the area, the craftsmanship of the villa was incredible and the service was exceptional without being overbearing. The breakfast supplies provided are topnotch and would please just about anyone. I would recommend Eagles Nest time after time and although pricey, it's worth every NZD! We hope to return for an anniversary sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfry001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent 2 nights in the First Light villa, it is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The breakfast provisions were very generous, and the gourmet BBQ prepared by the chef was delicious.
Our host William was great, made us feel very welcome and provided us with everything required. On top of all the above, the villa itself is beautiful and the sun came out which made it a perfect couple of days. Would love to visit again one day!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Eagle Nest is the top of the accommodation.
panoramic view plus friendly service.
we really enjoy staying at there
in your life, you deserve to stay there at least one night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I have been lucky enough to stay at Eagles Nest twice now and just had to comment on how amazing this place is. Its truely one of the best places you could ever stay in New Zealand. Wonderful staff , amazing views , stunning homes. To wake up and have NZ native Wekas wandering around your garden before you take a dip in the pool is something to treasure. Everything you need is supplied and although Russell is an amzing place , its hard to drag yourself away from your accomadation as you simply want to live every moment. Thanks team - amazing

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I visited Eagles Nest the second week of August 2011. What can I say, an incredible place with commanding views from every aspect. I stayed in the Eagle Spirit Villa with my partner and 4 of our good friends. You really do want for nothing, unbelievable views from every bedroom and of course the living area, which with its open fire and full home automation is a hard place to leave. But when you do drag yourself away from the fire and champagne and venture outside you will find a lap pool with infinity edge, expansive decks and of course a lovely hot spa pool. A place like this needs great service, and thats exactly what we got. In fact its not great, its absolutely impeccable. From the time we were greeted by Callum at the chopper pad on arrival too the very end of our stay, we were waited on hand and foot. He even came and collected us from the local bar late one afternoon after a big lunch! Callum also afforded us the opportunity to have a look through the main residence, Rahimoana. If we thought the Eagle Spirit Villa was wonderful, this building simply blew us away. Attention to detail is second to none and the views just do not get better, anywhere. Perhaps we will stay in Rahimoana next time. And there definitely will be a next time. But really, words do not do this location justice. We can not wait to return if the opportunity arises. Thank you Callum and your staff for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J0anneBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.7 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#4 of 8 in Russell
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#3 of 8 in Russell
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Nest

Address: 60 Tapeka Road, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Russell
Price Range: $1,440 - $2,940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eagles Nest 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles Nest is a multi award winning retreat overlooking the spectacular Bay of Islands. The 75 acre estate offers five world class luxury villas. Each offering; private heated infinity edge lap pool (excl First Light Villa), jacuzzi, air conditioning, home theater system. Talented chefs prepare cuisine featuring regional delicacies matched with New Zealand wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eagles Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagles Nest Hotel Russell
Eagles Nest Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing