We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect end for our holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hananui Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hananui Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Ulm, Germany
1 review
“Perfect end for our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

After a month driving around New Zealand we came to Russell to spend our last few days. Six nights we spent at the Hananui Lodge Motel, and we couldn't have been any happier.

Our hosts were friendly, thoughtful and always ready to help. The lodge was very clean, and serviced every morning. Ours was on the waterfront, and the view was really worth it. Watch the sunset while having dinner on the balcony, and then fall asleep listening to the waves breaking on the beach.

Spa and washing facilities, available, even the chance to just get one of the canoes offered by our hosts to go out for a row.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    38
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
51
165
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed at the Hananui Lodge for 4 nights at the end of 5 weeks charging all over New Zealand. This was planned as chill out time and the Hananui Lodge in Russell was the perfect place for that. John and Rongo gave us a typical warm Kiwi welcome. We stayed in the apartments, one road back from the waterfront - very well appointed and stylishly furnished. The rooms overlooking the beach in the main lodge must be even nicer. Russell is a great place to unwind. It might be busier earlier in the summer but we found it a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay. There are plenty of good restaurants so we didn't make use of the good cooking facilities in the apartment but self-catering would not have been a problem. Without question - we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisharrison_24747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

Great stay! The hosts Rongo John will drop anything they are doing to help you if you need it. The lodge is as clean as a whistle and your room is kept sparkling clean for your entire stay. I can't fault this place but would advise anyone looking to book to stay in the top rooms for more privacy. Waterfront Cafe provide excellent breakfast meals after a big night :) Perfect stay for New Years and I will be back again to bring in 2012 - but to stay for a bit longer this time!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unnzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in one of the apartments which are 1 block back from the beach. The apartment was great, perfectly presented and much more roomy than we expected. Only small downside is that the outer door is quite heavy and could slam on occasion, but we didn't really notice after the 1st few times.

Everything was as new, and worked perfectly. The little kitchenette was great, and perfect for cooking breakfast. Very nice to eat breakfast on the balcony while watching the world go by.
The parking under the apartment was so handy as finding somewhere to park in Russell during the new year holiday is not easy.

John and Rongo were brilliant, and put us right for the best local fish n chip shop, and other great places to eat, as well as places to go and things to stay.

We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frannypanels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed in a very, very clean, big 1 BR apt in the separate building 1 block farther in from the water. Nicely designed, with small stove, fridge, toaster, etc, etc. They told us it was built 4 years ago, but it seemed brand new. Hosts were very accommodating.

Russell is VERY low key. If you like that, you'll have a fine time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bills_bills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

The Hananui was one of the best places my wife and I have ever stayed at! The rooms were clean, neat and spacious (we stayed in one of the separately maintained apartments). It is located central to everything and hosts John and Rongo know the area and can provide some great advice about things to do and see. They will also make all the necessary arrangements for anything you would like to do. I also highly recommend going on a fishing trip with John; if a total amateurs like us managed to catch 6 snappers and a barracuda then you'll catch some as well! Highly recommended - you can't go wrong with the Hananui. - Jakob & Anna

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakob82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We'd travelled to Russell for the 'Pub Round the Corner' Classic Car & Tattoo Festival weekend. Unfortunately the weather was awful but then it was Winter! On Sunday we wanted to stay closer to town than where we were & decided to check in at Hananui Lodge. Seaside accommodation at this time of the year usually means its cold, but our unit was warm without having any heating turned on. The sun (when it was out) streamed in through the patio doors and we had water views with a peek of the bay. The unit was very clean & spacious with a comfy Kingsize bed. The private spa pool a touch of luxury. We walked everywhere from here, as we felt the carpark secure enough to leave our Chevy parked up. Hosts Rongo and John were lovely & friendly. We'll definitely be back for next year's event and we'll definitely stay here for the entire weekend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChezDesignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hananui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hananui Lodge Motel

Property: Hananui Lodge Motel
Address: 4 York Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Russell
#3 Family Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hananui Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hananui Lodge and Apartments! Hananui Lodge is located right on Russell's waterfront with unobstructed sea views and the Hananui Apartments are situated on Russell's main road, only 100 metres away from the water's edge. Whether you are looking for a romantic hideaway accommodation, a holiday of action and excitement, or somewhere special to take the family - Hananui Lodge and Apartments can accommodate your every need. Your Hosts, John and Rongo are locals of the area and will make you feel welcome, so much so that you won't want to return home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hananui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hananui Hotel Russell
Hananui Lodge Motel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing