We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior, reasonably priced accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hananui Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Had a wonderful stay here, the facilities and our room were immaculate. Services provided by staff were second to none, they were friendly and very helpful. The location is just beautiful, we stayed in the lodge which is literally a few steps across to the waters edge. Hananui apartments are behind the lodge on the other side of York Street and they look very smart, will book our summer stay in one of those. Our room in the lodge was so modern and comfortable. We went in June during the off season which was lovely, the weather was so mild and you can get off season rates on activities provided in Pahia like dolphin watching and hole in the rock tours which were so much fun!

Would highly recommend staying at Hananui, top notch!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rachel7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Hananui Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 287 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a Northland honeymoon, and thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility of Russell and the style of the Hananui. John could only have given us more information about the town & its facilities if he'd introduced us to the other shop keepers personally, and he certainly knows where the fish hang out. Next time we're after one of the waterside apartments.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thumper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

This is a fantastic place to stay whilst exploring the Bay of Islands. The accommodation is immaculate and modern, and the hosts 'go the extra mile' to ensure your time here is enjoyable. You'll want to return; we certainly will!

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank mbbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We found this hotel in the lonely planet book and what a find! The lodge has 2 sides,the lodge and the appartments.We stayed in one of the appartments and couldn't ask for much more. The place was built in dec 2006 so is still new and clean. Our bedroom had views over Russell christ church. This accomodation was good value for money and would love to stay again. The only down sides are that there is no internet (there is a charity internet cafe next door) and although they clean the appartment daily they don't make the bed.
Russell is a nice quiet little place with not alot happening after 7pm if you stay in winter. and would recomend sallys for a bite to eat. and if you get the car ferry get a 10 one-way journey pass book for $55.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank princess247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Heike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: I prefer room 7 or 8 first floor
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hp37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACP016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Commodore's Lodge
Commodore's Lodge
#6 of 8 in Russell
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hananui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hananui Lodge Motel

Address: 4 York Street, Russell 0242, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Russell
#3 Family Hotel in Russell
Price Range: $88 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hananui Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hananui Lodge and Apartments! Hananui Lodge is located right on Russell's waterfront with unobstructed sea views and the Hananui Apartments are situated on Russell's main road, only 100 metres away from the water's edge. Whether you are looking for a romantic hideaway accommodation, a holiday of action and excitement, or somewhere special to take the family - Hananui Lodge and Apartments can accommodate your every need. Your Hosts, John and Rongo are locals of the area and will make you feel welcome, so much so that you won't want to return home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hananui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hananui Hotel Russell
Hananui Lodge Motel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing