We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience, close to the water and restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hananui Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely experience, close to the water and restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We loved to stay here. We had a patio room and we were happy to have immediate walking access to the shore and all the best restaurants. The whole villa was super clean, modern decorated, the bed was super confortable, nice bathroom and great friendly service. I would stay again if I visited in the future.

Room Tip: Patio is good if you have heavy bags as the parking spot is in front of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    39
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
53
169
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in this fresh and well equipped accommodation by the sea. Great spot with access to everything within walking distance. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the hosts were friendly. We had a balcony suite as it was the only available for two nights. It was perfectly comfortable with a view of the ocean from the balcony. The only slight criticism is that the walls of the units are a little thin and you can hear the people in the next room talking at night. It didn't detract from the stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I arrived without a booking in this lovely old town of Russell. After a walk to oreintate ourselves we went back to Hananui, it just looked fresh, clean with superb position. The managers were very friendly, not at all pushy but there to help and give advice if needed about what to see, where to eat etc. We had a first floor room overlooking the ocean, it was just perfect.

The rooms are well equipped with microwave, utensils etc so a family could easily self cater. We had a double bed room, sitting/kitchen area and there was also a twin bedroom.

We only intended to stay one night, but could not resist a second. Our only regret was that we did not use the spa! Can thoroughly recommend it, Russel is such a lovely place and the Hananui made our stay there perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side could be hot, more air flow at the front facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazzaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Russell is a beautiful location, well worth the visit if you go to the Bay of Islands area in New Zealand. The hotel is in the heart of the small town overlooking the bay. It is very close to the main pier where various trips around the island start from, just a few minutes walk. The accommodation is very clean and very presentable. However the hotel is divided into two sections across the main road. Make sure you book the main hotel which is on the beach side, but few rooms have a direct view over the beach. The rooms across the road are quite new and have everything you want, but you will hear through the walls which was disappointing. The owner is also very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for him to organise. Overall I would say a good place to stay for a night or two if you are touring North Island NZ

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in Russell. The location is perfect, only steps away from the harbor and all of the restaurants and shops. We stayed in the apartments which would be perfect for couples or families wanting to stay more than a few days and who want to do some cooking. The apartment was spacious and extremely clean. It reminded me of a corporate apartment. There is a hot tub that you can use if you want to relax in the evening (this is called a "spa" by people in NZ). The owner was very friendly and helpful. Only downside was the cost, which was a bit higher than we wanted to pay, but we stayed here anyway and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is wonderful. We booked a one bed apartment. The location is fantastic, everything is closeby and a few steps away. The owners and staff here are brilliant and the one thing that shines through is that THEY ACTAULLY CARE. They really care about their guest. This place is so clean, you could eat from the floor. We had a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WriterToniC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Was sad to only have one night in Russel. Such a beautiful, quiet place. Accommodation was perfect, spotlessly clean and very well appointed. Absolutely everything you might need was in the little kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable and had a very enjoyable stay. A wonderful place to spend one day or many days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hananui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hananui Lodge Motel

Property: Hananui Lodge Motel
Address: 4 York Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Russell
#3 Family Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hananui Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hananui Lodge and Apartments! Hananui Lodge is located right on Russell's waterfront with unobstructed sea views and the Hananui Apartments are situated on Russell's main road, only 100 metres away from the water's edge. Whether you are looking for a romantic hideaway accommodation, a holiday of action and excitement, or somewhere special to take the family - Hananui Lodge and Apartments can accommodate your every need. Your Hosts, John and Rongo are locals of the area and will make you feel welcome, so much so that you won't want to return home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hananui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hananui Hotel Russell
Hananui Lodge Motel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing