We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip to Russell for !”

Duke of Marlborough
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to Russell for !”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The "Duke" has been lovingly restored - we visited on the recommendation of a local and was not disappointed at all. We visited for a family birthday dinner, although I did notice they have a ballroom / function room and a bar at the back of the hotel.
The decor was wonderful, the staff very friendly and in an age where I one has to go looking for good staff we found it here with obviously well trained professionals. The food was of the highest standard and there was certainly plenty of it.
We visited on a winter evening and I am definitely intending to revisit perhaps during the summer so that we can take advantage of the "on the water" views. We can certainly recommend this establishment

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    392
    115
    46
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to watch the world go by”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stopped here for a snack and a drink on the deck overlooking the bay. Perfect place to enjoy the scenery and watch the world go by.

We had a drink plus a bowl of amazing hand cut fries, some of the best we've had

Service fast and friendly, would come back for a meal next time we're in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 01foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 852 helpful votes
“Nice surprise and GREAT oysters !!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have been here two times before and walked past this charming place - our loss. Stop here and have the raw oysters (we are from Florida and thought we knew everything about oysters - but we were wrong). The oysters were GREAT!!!! Be sure to go look at the rooms and the beautiful wood floors (railroad ties)... The staff is helpful and entertaining... Try to sit out on the outside porch,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Extremely nice and helpful staff who assisted a tired and cold family (from a hard days sailing the BOI) with a lovely warm atmosphere and great coffee. Very much appreciated and we would happily recommend to other travellers!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great atmosphere, the venue got pretty busy which was nice it all added to the atmosphere. Lovely selection of wine and beer. Views to die for. We had the salt and pepper calamari which was delicious. Would recommend and would definately go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Templc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Marlborough also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Duke of Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing