We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal with an excellent view!”

Duke of Marlborough
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Oberlin, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meal with an excellent view!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just passing through Russell on a Sunday afternoon. No plans for a meal and got a recommendation from someone to try The Duke. We were not disappointed and very glad we took the advice. Got an outdoor table on a sunny, winter afternoon. The view is excellent and overlooks the water. There is a lot of outdoor seating on the patio and closer to the beach area just across the road. Both of us got the fish and chips. The fish is fresh and tasted fantastic! It was crispy and tender. The chips appeared to be handcut and were thick and delicious. Pretty good price. They said the menu changes seasonally. I would love to try other things there and see how the menu changes. Definitely recommended while in Russell!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    394
    115
    47
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“'The Duke' revisited.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

'The Duke' is a regular spot for us to have lunch when we visit the Bay of Islands - which is quite often. Mostly, it is a spot we head for in summer when lunch on the large deck is a treat.
This time, however, it was winter and with lunch on the deck being no quite so appealing, the dining room near a real log fine (and you should see the size of logs) was by far the better option.

Crab cakes and salt & pepper squid were ordered and duly appeared. Although they were very tasty, we were somewhat disconcerted by the presentation as each appeared on a half floor-tile! While quirky is fine, to have a meal served this way, on 'plates' more associated with people walking on them was not, we felt, a good look.

As if that was not bad enough, when it came time to settle the account, I was asked for an amount that I calculated was roughly twice what it should have been. It was only when I requested an itemised account, that it was found to be somebody else's bill. Although there were apologies forthcoming, I felt that that (plus the 'plates') spoiled to some extent, what should have been a very pleasant experience.

I would like to think that somebody from the restaurant reads this and takes steps to train their staff better (an itemised account should be presented as a matter of course when customers come to the cash desk) and that the idea of using half floor tiles as plates is discarded rapidly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank platypus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best spot in bay”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fresh crisp fish, chunky fries, icy cold beer, lunch on the deck, very busy Birdman weekend...awesome.
Staff were fantastic.
Would love to come back in summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ate at this restaurant twice during our stay in Russell. The restaurant is in a gorgeous old hotel and the dining area is large, warm and beautifully furnished - quite special. The meals were very good, fairly large servings and the views are wonderful. The service was excellent and we'd certainly go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent Food, wonderful ambiente”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Living in Russell, Bay of Islands, NZ, I have been at the "Duke" several times during the year and have always experienced professional and friendly staff, fresh tasty food and reasonable priced.
The owners and employees are making all efforts to please their customers at all time.
Ukulele Concert, French Bastille Day or Americans Indipendents Day celebrations were all very successful parties.
On one occation my friends and I were specialy very pleased. We came togehter in early afternoon to have a bithday coffee. As the Duke could not provide cake at that time, we were allowed to bring our own homebaked and they set a nice table with candle and flowers for us
infront of the cosy fireplce. We felt like home.
Sure we will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Marlborough also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Duke of Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing