We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant old building but drinks not too good.”

Duke of Marlborough
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Merseyside
Level Contributor
162 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A pleasant old building but drinks not too good.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have been twice to this hotel which has a great view and colonial style posh building but both times the service has been mediocre and the drinks not great. This time the iced coffee was not special and the cocktail was poor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    390
    114
    45
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Deliciuos meal”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely food and harpuka was deliciously tender and decent thickness while the steak received great reviews.

Minor gripes
Soup ordered as first course never arrived [but nor was it billed].
Seated outside and not offered table inside restaurant though slightly nippy April evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank disappointedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed - Fine to Average”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked a balcony table to catch the sunset and were warmly welcomed by staff. I had tempura prawns as an entree which were superb. My wife had local oysters which were fine. On enquiring over the specials my wife was advised that a "pound of prawns" was available. Thinking they would be a local product of the king variety she ordered them but was disappointed to get a plate of small prawns still in their shell which took a lot of work to shell out. She was very unhappy with this dish. We later found out that no prawns are farmed in the Bay of Islands but this was not made aware at the time of ordering. I had venison as a main and it was excellent. The venue was great and this place obviously does well. It could do a lot better if the staff were more understanding of the menu items and could better assist patrons to make the correct choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb position & views”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

On a warm summer evening,with a great sunset,we were able to secure an excellent table on the busy ,outside deck.
This historic restaurant/hotel is a short, scenic,ferry trip from Pahia, & it's position makes the most of the evening sun, with expansive water views.
The menu is varied & includes much local sourced produce.The fish is very fresh & we would personally recommend the excellent homemade "bread & dips" starter, & the steak as a main.
Unfortunately, it must be said, that, on the evening that we dined, the service was somewhat offhand & a little slow, which was a bit of a disappointment to ourselves & our invited (local) guests.
Food quality ,however was , very good.
Would highly recommend the venue to visitors to the Bay of Islands.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 310HilaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“England without the English”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This pub was absolutely wonderful. It had such an old English grandeur about it, but there weren't really any Brits around. The service was absolutely wonderful and the food was bliss. The atmosphere was so relaxed and friendly, there was a nice bloke sitting outside with his guitar but it wasn't at all obtrusive. For those who had kids they were extremely accommodating but when we were there we definitely needed to book for dinner, it didn't take long for all the tables to fill up.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Marlborough also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Duke of Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing