We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Food!”
Review of Diggers Restaurant

Diggers Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and enjoy relaxed dining in the warm, friendly environment of the local Russell RSA. We serve good, wholesome food at very reasonable prices. Dine in the Restaurant or outside in the covered courtyard. A childrens menu is available and there's even a toy box to keep the little ones amused too.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Value Food!”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The food here was brilliant, very tasty and cooked with attention to detail. The service was good as well but the general atmosphere was lacking and some of the other customers were very scruffy and it all felt a bit odd! The food was top class but it seemed out of place looking around the restaurant. Would certainly go back for the food though..yummy

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billandtednz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    39
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Just what the doctor ordered after a long day of driving”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

After a long day of driving in our campervan with my partner and her family (who were here for a visit from England), we stopped in Russell and headed out to the RSA for dinner. It was Sunday, so roast dinners all around that we're beautifully cooked and served by the lovely Amy. My partners father (who wasn't that hungry) polished his meal off before anyone else and joined us for desert with sticky date pudding being the dish of choice. So light and sweet with a beautiful toffee sauce, it has to be the tastiest desert I have had in a long time and a perfect end to a great meal. The chef (Rob) even came out and spoke to all the tables about their meals. Great personal service from a really nice and genuine couple. Very happy with everything and am sure you'd be hard pushed to find better value for your money in Russell. Will definitely head back to Diggers when we are back up in the summer for a meal. All the best to you guys and for your new addition.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ratboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Rob & Amy are great hosts, make you feel very welcome. Great menu at very reasonable prices and the food is excellent. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blommy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, N.Z
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unbelievablely wonderful food at amazing prices in lovely atmosphere .”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

R.S.A Russell is just one block back from the wharf, 3 minutes walk. We found this lovely dining room after despairing of almost finding anywhere nice to eat in Russell at an affordable price. Anyone can eat at this privately owned dining room in the R.S.A. You do not have to be a member like so many may think.
Rob and his lovely wife Amy are amazing chefs who've come out from England and recently bought this business as their own. The menu is fantastic, the meals just the nicest we've eaten anywhere in N.Z and the price, just so affordable after all the other eat places in Russell. We ate here one night and were so impressed with everything about the meal and the dining room , that after we left Russell the next day, we caught the ferry back that night to eat at this lovely dining room again and enjoy the sumptious meal that Rob and Amy provide. The meals are very tastefully presented in top class chef style, a big meal too which is probably twice whay you'd get at the other eat places in Russell. The dining room is beautifully set with white cloths, fresh flowers and candles at each table. We were just amazed really and the quality and value for money when eating here and Rob and Amy are a delightful couple and so friendly. They deserve to do well in their new business venture and with personalities and great food like they have, we're sure they'll do well. We will make sure we tell everyone who we know going to Russell, where the best place to dine is.
Murray & Brenda Rolston, Matamata, N.Z.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendaMatamata_N_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell
1 review
“My 7 year old "i'm in heaven"”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Went to diggers for the sunday roast with my wife, 2 kids(6 & 7) and some friends with their child. Solid sunday roast fare that my daughter loved enough to say that she was in heaven. Every one cleared their plates:)good food at a good price.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kenny010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diggers Restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Diggers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing