We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Bellrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bellrock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 8 night stay in this exemplary place. Lorraine and Peter are wonderful hosts, generous with their hospitality and willing to go the extra mile.
The room was immaculate, thoughtfully equipped to the last detail and with a wonderful view across Russell from the private balcony. This provided us with the perfect ending to our NZ holiday. We could not recommend Bellrock Lodge highly enough.
Carole and David Harrison (February 2014)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
8 Nights always seems such a long time to have guests stay, but the time just flew and you kept very busy. Thank you for being such easy guests to please. We managed to trace the owner of the bracelet you found in the safe, she is most grateful, thank you. Thank you for taking the time to do the lovely review for us, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
253
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great location. Terrific views. Very very clean and comfortable. All you need is here to relax and enjoy yourself. Peter and Lorraine are great hosts. You could not fault Bellrock as a place to stay. A first choice for us to return to when we do.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our 4 night stay at the Bellrock was a lovely peaceful interlude at the end of our New Zealand trip. The room could not be improved upon, carefully appointed to the last detail and even including 2 comfortable leather armchairs. From the balcony there was an expansive view of the town of Russell and the bay beyond. Lorraine and Peter were gracious hosts, thoughtful, generous and interesting. Among our fondest memories of New Zealand will be our time at this lovely well-run property in charming Russell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andersonps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you P & A for your review. We certainly enjoyed your company and you were both such undemanding and easy guests that if there was a TripAdvisor review for guests we would give you 100%. We are sure that you had to rest for a few days once you got home because you were very busy exploring the lovely area we are blessed to live in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Peter and Lorraine are not only hosts, they treated us just like friends. We arrived late, Lorraine helped to make restautrant reservation for us. The waitress of the restaurant told us if it was not for Lorraine's call, they would had not wait for us. By the way, we love Sally's restaurant the most. Peter helped us to pay the toll fee through internet and carefully draw a roadmap for our trip to Waipoua Forest. Also thanks to Peter's recommendation, the Treaty Grounds and Dolphin Cruise were just amazing. We were invited by Peter and Lorraine for their snack and drinks, and introuced other guests. We've been enjoying the frestest oyster and smoked salmon as well as chatting with other guests. They are a lot more that we could not tell here. We were reluctant to leave such a lovely place, and we started to miss Peter and Lorraine immediatelly after we left Bellrock. Thank you our friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Jim, Evon and Joycie, thank you so much for your lovely review and for the wonderfull poem you wrote in our guest book. We will certainly remember you as well. We learnt such a lot about your country and your way of life. Thank you for offering to give us advise about what to see and do in China. We will contact you well before we plan our visit. What a happy and loving family you have, it was great getting to know you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hosts couldn't have been more helpful or hospitable. Amazing views from large patio. Close to town and beach. Beautifully clean. Good facilities for cooking, even had a dishwasher! What more could you want!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynruth36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Your address has confused me as to which Marilyn this is, but I am sure you are "Mal" and Doug. Not that that matters because your review is much appreciated and very important to us. If you are Mal, thank you for donating a few DVD's for our guests to enjoy. We also trust that you will be back home in time for the UK spring that you so love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

we had such a great 2 night stay at the Bellrock Lodge! beautiful, very well thought out room, perfect view and incredibly gracious hosts. We showed up much earlier than check in time just to drop off our bags and our hosts offered to check us in right when we arrived...it was very kind of them!

Thank you peter and Lorraine! We'll definitely be staying here next time we're in Russell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you Tracy for taking the time to do your lovely review for us, we appreciate each review. Thank you also for sharing your bountifull snapper catch with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Bay of Islands was a beautiful 3-day stop on our NZ touring holiday and we were happy to have chosen Russell, with its fine restaurants and delightful bay, rather than brash Paihia. The location of Bellrock, set high on a hillside but only a 10-minute walk down into the town, gave fantastic views from our well-appointed large room and we received a warm welcome from Peter & Lorraine, who were happy to help with all our needs, such as laundry, restaurant recommendations, islands boat trip, etc. We would definitely stay here again and probably for longer next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
What a lovely review, thank you very much. Glad you were able to have a game of golf at Kauri Cliffs while staying with us and we hope you enjoyed a few more rounds of golf on your further travels in this lovely country. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#1 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellrock Lodge

Property: Bellrock Lodge
Address: 22 Chapel Street, Russell 0201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellrock Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best views in Russell come to Bellrock Lodge. We are on the hill overlooking the bay and the lovely village of Russell. The village and wharf are only a 5 min stroll away. At Bellrock you will have luxury en-suite rooms with private entrance and French doors leading out of your room onto your private patio. Each room has: Freeview TV, DVD player, Radio/CD/iPod dock, air conditioner, fully equipped kitchenette and either twin beds (2 singles) or a super king. Guest lounge for the exclusive use of our guests has a well stocked bar and barbeque facilities on the adjoining patio. We have off street parking and laundry facilities. Please note our rates are "room rate only" A substantial breakfast is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bellrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellrock Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing