We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellrock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 21 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hosts couldn't have been more helpful or hospitable. Amazing views from large patio. Close to town and beach. Beautifully clean. Good facilities for cooking, even had a dishwasher! What more could you want!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynruth36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Your address has confused me as to which Marilyn this is, but I am sure you are "Mal" and Doug. Not that that matters because your review is much appreciated and very important to us. If you are Mal, thank you for donating a few DVD's for our guests to enjoy. We also trust that you will be back home in time for the UK spring that you so love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
247
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

we had such a great 2 night stay at the Bellrock Lodge! beautiful, very well thought out room, perfect view and incredibly gracious hosts. We showed up much earlier than check in time just to drop off our bags and our hosts offered to check us in right when we arrived...it was very kind of them!

Thank you peter and Lorraine! We'll definitely be staying here next time we're in Russell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you Tracy for taking the time to do your lovely review for us, we appreciate each review. Thank you also for sharing your bountifull snapper catch with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Bay of Islands was a beautiful 3-day stop on our NZ touring holiday and we were happy to have chosen Russell, with its fine restaurants and delightful bay, rather than brash Paihia. The location of Bellrock, set high on a hillside but only a 10-minute walk down into the town, gave fantastic views from our well-appointed large room and we received a warm welcome from Peter & Lorraine, who were happy to help with all our needs, such as laundry, restaurant recommendations, islands boat trip, etc. We would definitely stay here again and probably for longer next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
What a lovely review, thank you very much. Glad you were able to have a game of golf at Kauri Cliffs while staying with us and we hope you enjoyed a few more rounds of golf on your further travels in this lovely country. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

After meeting the wonderful hosts of Bellrock Lodge we entered our fantastic room. It was the most beautiful stay of our entire trips we've made in our life! Everything was lovely. From the service, to the furnishing, up to the breathtaking view from our balcony. If we return to NewZealand we definitely will stay again in this amazing lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
It's been a year since you were here with us. Not sure what triggered your memory, but we are certainly glad something did, thank you for your great review. If our guest records are correct you were on your honeymoon in this lovely country. Trust 2014 will be a joy filled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

The other reviewers have used up all the superlatives! Four of us stayed with Peter and Lorraine earlier this month and fell in love with Russell and our hosts. Our rooms were lovely with every amenity imaginable and our hosts soon became friends. The only problem is that every place we stayed for the remainder of our trip was compared to the Bellrock and none of them came close to measuring up!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
"Toaders" - I am sure I know which guests you are, and I can't imagine why "Toaders" . A day or so after you left, Peter said "I am missing the ladies laughter" So thank you for sharing your positive and funfilled outlook on life with us and a big thank you for the lovely review. I am sure you spread your joy as you travelled through NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Bellrock B&B Christmas 2013 and were delighted with the stay. This is a handsome, four room establishment with amazing views of downtown Russell and the bay beyond with the small town of Paihia in the distance. The light on the water was magical and changes with the time of day. We never tired of sitting on our spacious balcony and enjoying the scene. An additional bonus is the short walk downtown to the ferry, restaurants and stores.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and thoughtfully appointed. Every detail is taken into consideration. The hosts, Peter and Lorraine, go out of their way to be helpful and charming. Lorraine cooks scrumptious breakfasts; Peter is available to pick you up in town if needed. He even drove us to the airport on the day we flew out. Meeting the two of them was one of the highlights of our trip. All in all, this is by far the best place to stay in New Zealand’s Bay of Islands!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and essentially the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EWLTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
From your email, we knew that you were very busy catching up on chores that had lagged behind while you were away, so THANK YOU ever so much for taking the time to post this lovely review for us. We both enjoyed your company such a lot as well. Thank you from Shaka and his friend Rigby for giving them so much love and attention. We are not sure who was happier once you got home, you or Peaches, your spaniel. We trust that 2014 will be a year filled with good health and lots of joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We couldn't have chosen a better place to kick off our NZ tour. Russell is a very pretty, interesting and peaceful township with lovely colonial style buildings. But the real find was Bellrock Lodge. We stayed for 3 nights and quite simply could not have chosen better. The rooms are very tastefully furnished and extremely we'll equipped complete with a superbly comfortable bed and kitchen facilities. And if you add to that a wonderful view from your very own balcony, why would you want stay anywhere else? Peter and Lorraine are absolutely lovely and made our stay a truly memorable experience. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We certainly feel very privilaged. Ron you told us you always consult Tripadvisor before travelling but you have never done a review, so THANK YOU for choosing Bellrock Lodge to do your first review, and what a great review it is. Because of guests like you (that overlook our mistakes) that we were notified this week that we have won the Travellers Choice Award. Thank you for keeping your room so tidy, what a pleasure to service each morning. Travel safe, and we trust the rest of your travels in NZ have been enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#1 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellrock Lodge

Property: Bellrock Lodge
Address: 22 Chapel Street, Russell 0201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellrock Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best views in Russell come to Bellrock Lodge. We are on the hill overlooking the bay and the lovely village of Russell. The village and wharf are only a 5 min stroll away. At Bellrock you will have luxury en-suite rooms with private entrance and French doors leading out of your room onto your private patio. Each room has: Freeview TV, DVD player, Radio/CD/iPod dock, air conditioner, fully equipped kitchenette and either twin beds (2 singles) or a super king. Guest lounge for the exclusive use of our guests has a well stocked bar and barbeque facilities on the adjoining patio. We have off street parking and laundry facilities. Please note our rates are "room rate only" A substantial breakfast is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bellrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellrock Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing