We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location in Russell” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellrock Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bellrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Location in Russell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are regulars to the Bellrock B & B, Peter and Lorraine could not be kinder hosts and the accommodation is luxury. The welcome we get there is always the warmest and the view from the top of the hill is stunning. Last trip I had the pleasure of some lovely tapas and sundowners with Peter and Lorraine on the deck, they gave us guests a platter of local Orongo Bay Oysters and smoked mussells with a nice cold glass of Oyster Bay wine. Great times!!!!! If you do opt for breakfast you will be spoiled, Lorraine's tomato chilli jam is fab. I highly recommend this above all other accommodation I have stayed on in Russell and Paihia and will continue to return regularly.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view out over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
248
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Bellrock Lodge was recommended by friends of ours and what a fantastic recommendation that was. Peter and Lorraine are fabulous hosts who could not do enough for us. The first night we were invited for drinks on the balcony, they also put on a lovely display of local food including Oranga Bay Oysters and New Zealand mussels which were delicious.

The position of the B & B was elevated so you have spectacular views of the bay. Bellrock has recently been refurbished and the rooms are certainly one of the best we have stayed in, exceptionally clean and tidy including kitchen facilities and the bed was very comfortable. There is also a laundry room which is available for guests to use.

If you are visiting Russell or the surrounding area then this is the place to stay.

Thank you Peter and Lorraine for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a fabulous spot! The rooms are immaculate and newly refurbished and fully contained with a fridge, dishwasher and cooktop. The hosts are extremely welcoming... we stayed over New Years and they kindly invited everyone staying for dinner and drinks to watch the fireworks at Paihia.
The breakfast (additional $30 for fully cooked) is very good value and superb.
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms have seperated access and views overlooking Russell
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling81271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Bellrock Lodge is a clean, attractive and comfortable B&B that is distinguished above all else by its superb hosts, Peter and Lorraine. They work very hard to ensure each guest has a stay that is both comfortable and memorable -- from providing evening drinks to booking excursions to shuttling guests to local sights. I recommend it most highly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Echevarria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I traveled from California (US) for our honeymoon in mid-October and stayed at the Bellrock Lodge in Russell for 2 nights.

Pros
-Lodge is owned and run by Peter and Lorraine; the MOST accommodating B&B hosts we have ever met!
-Peter and Lorraine take great care to keep the lodge and guestrooms looking its best and treated us like old friends!
-Lorraine's homemade jams at Continental breakfast was amazing!
-I recommend trying Lorraine's cooked breakfast entrees too. The food she makes is delicious and she will accommodate if you're vegetarian, etc. She literally cooks it and walks the entree directly from her kitchen to the dining room (less than 10 feet away) and serves it hot and fresh onto your plate!
-For us, it was worth the price to have breakfast at the lodge instead of searching around for a cafe. I was completely stuffed and content after eating all 3 mornings of our stay
-Private location sits on a hill
-Guestroom has beautiful views from the balcony
-Free Wifi
-Welcomed with some cookies (placed in Tupperware) and a chocolate for each of us when we checked in; I believe Peter said the cookies are from Italy.
-Guestroom contains a Folder of information that was meticulously put together; it was thought out with detailed information about local eats, lodge offerings, etc.
-Super Comfortable King sized bed (it had an electric blanket under the sheets that kept me so warm and cozy)
-Guestroom was Spotless, sleek and had a modern feel
-Design of the kitchenette is really sophisticated, it comes with a high end dishwasher, water kettle, kitchen appliances, plates, utensils, glassware, etc.
-Bathroom has larger than average stand up shower with built in shampoo and conditioner dispensers.
-Towel warmer rack in bathroom
-TV in the guestroom included basic cable channels (Free View), some premium channels (Sky TV) are available in the entertainment room
-Peter and Lorraine invited us to join them one night for oysters, cheese and wine (they provided everything!) in the lodge entertainment room and we had such a wonderful time getting to know each other. They exude warmth, are wonderful conversationalists and highly personable. We have never met B&B hosts that were so genuine, engaging and kindhearted. Our experience would not have been the same if we had skipped out.
-Laundry room with Washers/Dryers is located toward the back of the lodge and available for guests to use; there's a donation jar if you use laundry detergent (money goes to a local charity).
-Many trails are close by for a nice stroll, we got a great workout hiking up some hills to get views of the nearby islands
-We stayed during the off season so the Russell area was very quiet
-Convenient 5 minute to walk to the waterfront and to find restaurants and the market.
-Peter even helped us pull out our luggage to say our goodbyes

Cons
-Continental breakfast / Breakfast Entree(s) are not included in the daily rates (but the price and options provided are well worth paying for!)
-Must drive up a short, but pretty steep driveway to reach the lodge parking lot.
-The wooden frame/rim of our bathroom mirrors had a bit of moldy smell, so we reported this to Peter when we checked out

Side notes:
-Book through their website directly: http://www.russellbnb.co.nz/ - this helps their business tremendously as 3rd parties take most of the cut. We wish we had known this!
-We drove up the west route and had to use the car ferry from Paihia to get to Russell; we found out the Ferry only takes NZ cash ($10 for a small car, $1 for each passenger sitting in the car).
-2 nights was too short for such great accommodations; if we could go back, we would have stayed at least 3 nights
-Its a far drive to Auckland; took us about 5 hours since we made a few stops
-The lodge has some DVDs in the entertainment room that are free for guests to borrow and watch during their stay
-We opened the doors to our patio when we arrived and it was great to enjoy the sunlight and breeze
-Peter and Lorraine will happily assist in booking excursions during your stay; they know the area well, utilize their knowledge!

Happy Traveling!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were warmely welcomed by Peter and Lorraine, the sweetest couple ever. This place is a perfect paradise. Our room was beautifully clean, cozy, with the most beautiful views of the bay. We enjoyed our stay very much, everything was just PERFECT and will definitely stay here again in the future. Thank you Peter and Lorraine for making our stay memorable.
Sincerely,
Chris Williams and Vania.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Once again Peter and Lorraine provided a restful haven above Russell where I can lock the car and walk to everything, the view is captivating and the rooms summery and inviting, perfect to relax in after a good yacht race. Watching the sun go down from the deck over the ever changing maritime seascape is a perfect break from the working week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#2 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellrock Lodge

Property: Bellrock Lodge
Address: 22 Chapel Street, Russell 0201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellrock Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best views in Russell come to Bellrock Lodge. We are on the hill overlooking the bay and the lovely village of Russell. The village and wharf are only a 5 min stroll away. At Bellrock you will have luxury en-suite rooms with private entrance and French doors leading out of your room onto your private patio. Each room has: Freeview TV, DVD player, Radio/CD/iPod dock, air conditioner, fully equipped kitchenette and either twin beds (2 singles) or a super king. Guest lounge for the exclusive use of our guests has a well stocked bar and barbeque facilities on the adjoining patio. We have off street parking and laundry facilities. Please note our rates are "room rate only" A substantial breakfast is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bellrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellrock Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing