We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Russell”
Review of Bellrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellrock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 19 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We spent four nights at this beautiful place and enjoyed the warm hospitality of our hosts Peter & Lorraine. Very nice location with magnificent views within short walking distance to the waterfront with all its restaurants and shops. Immaculate clean and comfortable rooms with large bathrooms and roomy balcony. Upstairs guest lounge and bar with comfortable seating facilities. A really nice place, thanks a lot Peter & Lorraine for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nemocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 357 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2011

We booked in for 1 night and stayed 3. We would have stayed forever if possible! This brand new (in 2010) development of four luxury, self contained apartments is a perfect way to take in the beauty of this area. The room is fully equipped to a very high standard, with a wonderful balcony overlooking a stunning view of Russell and the bay. Less than 5 minutes walk to the centre of the village and the beach, with a very good choice of cafes and restaurants. Most importantly, the friendliness and hospitality of Peter and Lorraine, made our stay simply perfect. You could not wish for better hosts. Breakfast was sumptuous. If you are thinking of staying in this area and looking for somewhere in Paihia - dont! Russell is much tastier and stylish, and the Bellrock will delight you.
Mick & Marrison

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We had a awesome time at Bellrock. A beautiful B&B situated on the hill overlooking the village, not a far walk to the Ferry building or the village.

The hosts Peter and Lorraine where very welcoming and only to happy to help in any way whilst we were there.

The room where I stayed was of a very high standard, and my first impression of walking in the room was ohh how comfortable that bed looks, (and it was). Sitting on the bed you have magnificient views over looking the village and the ocean. The bathroom was roomy and the shower had great water pressure. They have a great choice of breakfast which include a choice of a veggie breakfast if you so choose, that can be enjoyed either on your own private deck or upstairs in the dining room.

I can't say enought about this B&B and I would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LydiaGunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We didn't know what to expect when we went here - thought it might be a ramshackle older place. In fact it is all brand-new (a small old house recently gutted and extended). There are only four units. Each room has a true king-size bed, hardwood floors and a balcony with the view you see in the photographs. There is a top-of-the-line kitchenette (including a small one-drawer dishwasher), and a beautiful, very large bathroom (only criticism: the bathroom could use a cabinet or counter for storage). The owners were very kind and attentive, made great breakfasts, called for information and booked tours for us.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElspethVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Elspeth, after all this time (2011) you will be surprised that we remember you. Every time I clean unit 4's bathroom I think I must respond to Elspeth's review. Firstly thank you for a great review and for bringing the lack of shelving to our attention. We have put up two short shelves next to the hand basins (the ladies love these for their make up) plus another long one. Hope you are both still keeping well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ederprivat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorraineBlig, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorraineBlig, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michaelzQ6954OS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Russell hotels
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#1 of 8 in Russell
305 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 19 in Russell
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Russell
Villa Russell
#6 of 19 in Russell
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#1 of 19 in Russell
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ounuwhao Harding House
#5 of 19 in Russell
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellrock Lodge

Address: 22 Chapel Street, Russell 0201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range: $187 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellrock Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best views in Russell come to Bellrock Lodge. We are on the hill overlooking the bay and the lovely village of Russell. The village and wharf are only a 5 min stroll away. At Bellrock you will have luxury en-suite rooms with private entrance and French doors leading out of your room onto your private patio. Each room has: Freeview TV, DVD player, Radio/CD/iPod dock, air conditioner, fully equipped kitchenette and either twin beds (2 singles) or a super king. Guest lounge for the exclusive use of our guests has a well stocked bar and barbecue facilities on the adjoining patio. We have off street parking and laundry facilities. Please note our rates are "room rate only", a substantial breakfast is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bellrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellrock Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing