We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lovely laid back and quaint Russell offered us this Top 10 holiday park where we stayed for 4 nights. It is in the prettiest of settings, and beautifully looked after. Our hosts Bonnie and Alan were always so helpful and we appreciated Alan taking us on a tour of the site and sharing his knowledge of the country and environment , a really relaxing and delightful place to stay, thanks.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Charm790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback.

It was great to hear that you had a relaxing stay at our park and enjoyed the peaceful, park-like surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 256 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our new two bedroom motel unit had an absolutely fabulous view from the veranda. The unit was well equipped and immaculately clean. The park was one of the most beautifully landscaped and maintained of the several we stayed in. Located within a short walk of Russell, a charming historical town and also within walking distance of Flagstaff Hill preserve with beautiful vistas from the top.

Room Tip: Two Bedroom Unit #23 - new with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hi John

Thank you for the fantastic feedback and 'hot tip'.

We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Motel unit, #M23 along with our park-like surroundings.

Like you, many of our guests enjoy our convenient location to the historic Russell township, the Flagstaff Historic Reserve and the Russell Wharf for cruise departures.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to have you stay with us another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in a one bedroom flat and paid a small price for million dollar views. We loved our stay and felt totally relaxed listening to the cicadas and birds with visits from our native weka.
I loved the fact that we couldn't hear boy-racers, trucks, trains and not many cars.
I definitely will want to come back and highly recommend this accommodation.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Melinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful, park-like surroundings of our holiday park, along with the stunning sea views from your unit.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This Top Ten was one of the best we have stayed in while we toured the two Islands. All the facilities were very clean and the grounds were beautiful. We stayed in a standard cabin and enjoyed sitting outside, at the picnic table, and looking over the Village and the water. We enjoyed being able to just park our car and walk to everything we wanted to see and do. The beautiful beach was just a short walk away and all the shops, coffee houses, and restaurants were also a short walk away. In the evening we loved walking to the harbour and seeing all the tour boats and ships coming in. It was a peaceful and restful place to stay. We hope to return again, but will plan to stay longer and bring our grandsons the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Village_traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

It was lovely to hear that you considered our park to be like 'paradise' and one of the best TOP 10 Holiday Parks during your stay in New Zealand.

We look forward to having you stay with us again with your grandsons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I had a great time staying here while in Russell. The site is well protected from the wind, facilities are a short enough walk within the site a quick stroll will get you into russell in two minutes. It cost a little more then I was used for a site and the 50c showers were a hassle but by in large a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback. Thank you.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the situation and convenience of our Holiday Park.

Unfortunately Russell does not have a mains water supply, so we are reliant on drawing water from the local water table. Therefore, water is extremely precious and water consumption is closely monitored to work within local council resource consent requirements. Having metered showers is one way we can control water consumption and create an awareness of water consumption. We appreciate your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We've stayed here in every type of accommodation, from campervan site, cabins, and on "the field" in powered and unpowered sites, and its a great place.
Location is excellent, a few minutes stroll to town, and on the way to Long Beach.
The facilities are fine, maybe a bit tired, but all functional and plenty of them.
Kids play park is a winner, and in summer months, kids all just hang out here.
Staff are friendly and take no crap - parties or noisy groups will be shut down quickly. Come 10:30pm, you can lie in your bed/tent and listen to the kiwis and owls.
Highly recommend. The membership is also worth getting. $50 for 2 years, offering a discount on accommodation but also on most of the eateries and things to do in the area means it pretty much pays itself in a single visit.

Room Tip: If camping, pay the extra couple of bucks for a powered site and they will give you the power cable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback.

It was great to hear that you consider our Park to be the best family place to stay in Russell and that you understand and appreciate the benefits of our 'no noise' policy from 10:30pm.

We also appreciate your loyalty to our Park and recommendation of the TOP 10 Club. It was wonderful to hear that the membership paid for itself during your stay with us.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at may top ten sites on our tour of NZ and this was right up there with the best. Staff are beautifully friendly and cheerful. Grounds are well kept. Facilities are clean. Fairly priced Our pitch was more than large enough (though we were there just before start of summer).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoneandonlyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for providing such positive feedback.

It was great to hear that you considered our Park to one of the best during your stay in New Zealand. We especially appreciated the lovely comments about our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
290 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 1 James Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Russell
Price Range: $63 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park is the only Holiday Park centrally located in the historic township of Russell. Our park is suited to families, couples, walkers and well supervised groups who enjoy the natural unspoilt beauty of the area. With a Qualmark 4 star plus rating we offer a fantastic range of accommodation from self-contained villas with sea views, basic cabins, family friendly accommodation, powered and non-powered sites all within easy walking distance to cruise departure points, beaches, cafes/restaurants, heritage buildings and historic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing